An Ode to Grammar Day! (In Verse)

Twitter-grammar-and-usage

Today is National Grammar Day,

if you didn’t know it, that’s okay.

Please don’t moan because this rhymes,

I don’t do this all the time.

Double check your “your” and “you’re”,

Pretend you’re in the days of yore.

Don’t forget “there”, “their”, and “they’re”,

These errors make editors swear.

While we’re here, check “its” and “it’s”,

That apostrophe gives people fits.

“Alot” is not a word at all,

Even if it’s cute and small.

Don’t get me started about the comma,

That’s one mark that causes drama

Almost as much as using “That”

As in, “I want that that is paired with that.”

Alright folks, I think I’m done.

I do hope that this has been fun.

Let’s celebrate Grammar Day,

And let our words out to play!

***

natlgrammarday

In 2008, Martha Brockenbrough, the founder of the Society for the Promotion of Good Grammar, established National Grammar Day. It is hosted by Mignon Fogarty, also known as Grammar Gal.

***

In honor of the day, here are a selection of past grammar posts for your enjoyment:

***

23389467 You can help out! My author friend Alyson Grauer’s father is struggling with cancer and today, blogs around the world are promoting a “book blast” fundraiser, selling her new book ON THE ISLE OF SOUND AND WONDER. All royalities from today’s sales will go towards his treatment. I read and reviewed her book over at my author blog, you can check it out here.

Buy the book on Amazon today!

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Art of Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Ode to Grammar Day! (In Verse)

  1. quiall says:

    That was fun! I do appreciate the post.

  2. Pingback: Top Picks Thursday 03-12-2015 | The Author Chronicles

Comments are closed.