Posted by: Jodi | November 5, 2014

Inspiration for all those NaNo’s out there

It’s day five of NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month) and it’s fast approaching the time when people are starting to fall behind and get discouraged.  I’m here to pick you up by your bootstraps and give you the support and encouragement you need.

My NaNo journey this year is different, like I said in the last post. I’m in the process of revising my novel so that I can present it to beta readers and get that crucial feedback. It needs one additional pass after this one before I can feel comfortable with doing that. My goal for NaNo is to get in at least one hour a day and push through the draft one tiny piece at a time.

I know this sounds like small peanuts, it is.  My kids are off track and still too young to leave me alone for longer than a few minutes at a time. I get this hour in twenty minute chunks.  If I’m lucky I’ll only get interrupted one or two times during each chunk. It’s a perfect recipe for insanity.

Even still, with these micro chunks I’m doing more every day than I’ve done in the past because I’m actually working on it. Sure, having several hours to work is fantastic, euphoric even, but if I have to wait weeks to get one then I forget what’s going on in the story and have to spend valuable time rereading and backtracking and double checking before I can even start.

I almost wish I was writing a first draft…

But you, dear NaNo writer, dash out the words like a crazed mad man. Find every minute you have and just let it flow out.  Don’t look back, don’t worry about the stuff you might be messing up.  The purpose of a first draft is to find the bones of the story, not create a masterpiece.

With that in mind, here’s your inspiration:

dragons

19676637224cebce60b52f7fb50f8215

8154c8d842b56918ebcb8912ab0f6deb

 

Now get off of the internet and get writing!

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Literary Wanderings on WordPress.


Categories

