Writerly Quote of the Day – Asimov

Asimov quote“Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” – Isaac Asimov

In Hamlet, Shakespeare said “brevity is the soul of wit.” Today, and quite possibly for the next unforeseen future, I will be brief. It turns out that blogging, especially when you are working hard to create new and unique material on a regular basis, takes hoards of time.  That’s time that I don’t have, and to be honest, haven’t had from the beginning.  I will continue to post here on Wednesdays but the posts are going to be shorter for the most part. (I am a novelist at heart, writing short can be a challenge).

Why the change? It keeps being pointed out to me that I spend more time on the blog than on my fiction. If I put the same effort into my novel it might actually get finished.  Also, cue the happy dance, I received my first official acceptance letter telling me that one of my short fiction pieces won a place in the 2015 Fantasy Anthology by Xchyler Publishing. Receiving this validation has kickstarted me out of the rut that I’ve been stuck in and now it’s time to get out there and get the work done.

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Submission Success and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writerly Quote of the Day – Asimov

  1. I believe we are only vessels, the ideas are out there waiting to be grabbed and indeed our fingers move to their beat. Enjoy your beat, write your stories!! And of course, congrats on the acceptance letters. Rejection can be so silent!! Enjoy. x

  2. Best wishes on getting the work done. You’re a great writer and no doubt will accomplish great things. Congratulations on your short fiction place in the 2015 Fantasy Anthology.

  3. ericjbaker says:

    Hemingway and Steinbeck never had to say, “Do I spend too much time blogging?” Perhaps this advice from The Experts about a social Media presence is BS.

    • Jodi says:

      I have mixed feelings about social media. Ive talked to several publishers that say having a social media presence isn’t nearly as important as having a good story to tell. That said they all want their authors to have some form of it once they are trying to market their work.

  4. Congratulations! And you’re right about how blogging becomes a time drain.

Comments are closed.