Dang it WordPress!

I just finished a really great post about creating culture and finding an audience using the WordPress new post writing page.  I had the picture, I had everything tagged, the only thing left to do was a quick double-check using the proofreader (aka spellcheck).

The new posting page doesn’t have a proofreader.

I clicked the handy link that tells me if I miss the classic post writing page I can switch back to the one that has the spellchecker.

Poof – the post is gone.

Before, the posts were automatically saved whenever any of the post’s sidebar settings were changed so I didn’t think to save before clicking.

My mistake. I tried everything to retrieve it – and trust me I’m pretty good at finding lost things.  It’s gone.

I’m seriously crying right now, it was an awesome post.

***

On a different note, today’s the last day to enter in the August giveaway for a free critique of the first 20 pages of a work in progress or of a query letter.  To enter all you have to do is “like” this post.  For a second entry, leave a comment.  All likes and comments for any post during the month of August will be counted.

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Opportunity Knocks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dang it WordPress!

  1. ericjbaker says:

    I write all my posts in MS word and paste them in. The one time I didn’t do that… zap! The post vasnished. No draft. Frustrating.

    • Jodi says:

      I’ve been really lucky not to have lost any yet, at least none bad enough to remember. Writing it in MS makes more sense, I should try it.

      On Wednesday, August 27, 2014, My Literary Quest wrote:

      >

  2. tocksin says:

    It reminds me that we are no better than our next piece of writing and that sudden missing link can unnerves us to no end. My commiseration goes out to you. It just shows to how organic writing truly is, that you could write the piece again but its original form will never be duplicated, at the least it will be replicated which maybe is not bad in itself, much like falling off a bike, we dust off our pants and climb aboard.

    • Jodi says:

      I plan on recreating it again, it was a good topic that I think many would like to read about. You’re right about it being an organic process, writing it again isn’t going to be the same. Hopefully it will be better!

      • tocksin says:

        What’s at issue is one looses heart, one can hardly muster the energy that endowed their first foray, but hopefully this soon to be twice wrote piece is so clear that it will re-write itself with something added by the forced re-writing. I look forward to the piece.

  3. Technology is a pain sometimes. It’s like the perfect kid who messes up every so often. I’ll look forward to your post another time when you get your breath back.

    • Jodi says:

      I think from here on out I’ll be using MS to compose my posts. I like the formatting tools better and won’t have to waste as much time. At least I won’t have to come up with a new topic for next week!

  4. Maybe it’s my age, but I don’t often trust online tools completely so I’ll write a post on my computer, save it, and then paste it. I often have to do some reformatting, but at least the words are there. I still have every post I’ve written. Then again, I’ve had instances when WP decided it didn’t want me to paste or when I’d try to add an image it scatter my text to the four winds (yes, it’s temperamental). That’s part of what drove me to create a website. Yes, “Dang it, WordPress,” indeed.

  5. Jodi says:

    There will always be bugs in the system and it’s something we all have to deal with. It’s part of the process. That said, I hate it when things don’t work the way they’re supposed to. Losing valuable writing time to technical issues really hurts when you don’t have hardly any time to begin with!

Comments are closed.