The Caged Bird Has Flown Free

This morning I was saddened to learn of the passing of renowned poet and icon of her generation, Dr. Maya Angelou.  Although I’ve never been a terrific student of poetry, I have experienced Maya’s work when in a high school English class we were asked to select a book of poetry to study.  I chose I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and spent several weeks of the semester reading and doing my best to analyse  and interpret the different poems.  I’ll admit as a teenager I didn’t have the life experience to truly understand the deeper meaning of her words.  In many ways I still don’t.

That doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate her life and works.  She is an inspiration and will be missed.

***

NYTimes Article: Maya Angelou, Lyrical Witness of the Jim Crow South, Dies at 86

 

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books and Reading, Emotional Impact, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Caged Bird Has Flown Free

  1. ericjbaker says:

    This is a spot-on and succinct tribute to a great and important artist and likely reflects most Americans’ experience with such revered poetry. I like your choice of a photo as well. Poetry can seem obtuse and lofty to many of us, and that image gets at the humility and humanity behind it.

    • Jodi says:

      I think the true makeup of a public figure is measured by their willingness to go on Sesame street and play with the puppets. And you have to love her smile, it truly sparkles.

Comments are closed.