Dearest Fellow Writers – Thou Shalt not Spam

No-Spam

In these last recent weeks I’ve been upping my presence on the various social media, Facebook, Twitter, Linked In, and the blogs, to start building my loyal fandom.  I hate using those terms, but it’s the truth. I’m out in the social media world to seek people who like my writing so when the time comes they will buy my work.  That’s not the only goal, I’m also out working the internet to find other writing kindred spirits and build a virtual community of talented people with whom I can support and build relationships.

I look through my Twitter and Facebook feeds to find interesting stuff to read, not to find the next book I want to buy.  When I find things I like, I love to retweet and help get the word out.  If I read a great blog post I’ll tell my tweeps as well. Problem is, I have to sort through literally hundreds of “buy my stuff” posts to find these little gems.he #1 thing I’ve noticed about fellow authors is an amazing amount of self promotion.  This by itself is not a bad thing, in fact I’d be surprised if a published author didn’t try to promote their books when logistically possible.  However, there are limits.  I’m getting very annoyed with tweeters, facebookers, and even bloggers (though to a lesser degree), who only use social media to promote their work.  All of their tweets are advertisements for their latest work.  Each Facebook post screams, “BUY MY STUFF, PLEASE!”   Ladies and gentlemen, if I want to be solicited to I’ll take my phone number off the “Do Not Call” list.  I don’t want people to sell me stuff, I want to connect with interesting people.

There is a theory that says, all an artist needs to be successful are 1000 loyal fans.  By loyal I mean fans that already like you and your product.  If your social media is stocked with these people and you are providing things that they find interesting, then they will send the word out to their friends.  Say you tweet a quote from your book (which is far more interesting than telling us it’s on Amazon) and of your 1000 loyal followers, 300 chose to retweet it to their friends.  Lets say they each have 600 tweeting friends, that’s 180,000 possible people who might see your quote.  And if even 1% are interested then that’s 1800 people that might want to be your friend as well.

Let’s sum up.  Stop spamming.  For every blatant sales pitch there should be at least five, if not more, interesting tidbits that make me want to like you.  I want to like you, please stop spamming me!

Now go make friends people!

 

By the way, if you haven’t had the time to friend/follow/whatever me, here are all the links! 🙂

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiLMilner

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiMilnerAuthor

My Other Blog  (now featuring actual fiction!)  http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com/

Linked in: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jodi-milner/29/79/960

Pinteresthttp://pinterest.com/tsuchigari/

Did I miss any?

 

 

 

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Marketing and Publication and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dearest Fellow Writers – Thou Shalt not Spam

  1. Alethea Eason says:

    I read this with my head nodding yes. I hate to go to my twitter account. It’s so YIN, and the self-promoting depresses me. It’s the area of this whole writing thing I do not like and am not comfortable with. I have sent out “ads” for my books, but with a sense of futility because we’re all promoting to each other. I prefer facebook, where I do put out an occasional post about books, but I also post my cat pictures :). Thank you for articulating this so well.

    • Jodi says:

      I worried that posting a “no soliciting” rant here on my blog would attract the wrong kind attention and turn other authors against me. I’m glad that hasn’t happened. Everyone loves cute cat pictures!

  2. I love this post. Not just for the obvious, stop telling me to buy your book comment, because who doesn’t hate those, and who in their right mind thinks they’re ok? But for the idea of maybe tweeting out a couple of sentences from your book. Such a simple but much more effective idea. And you’re right, a smaller, but genuine following is going to be much more effective than those accounts you see following, say, 34,000 people. A great post.

    • Jodi says:

      In a perfect world all of this networking stuff would be so much easier, well in my perfect world at least. I love it when authors put up snippets of quotes, I’m instantly interested in what might come next. So glad you came by!

  3. Pingback: Do You Put Links In Your Books?… | Titan Inkorp

  4. ericjbaker says:

    Well said. I blog to raise awareness of myself as a writer (and musician), but my blog is ABOUT entertaining my readers. I don’t expect people to follow my fiction links or buy my album simply because they know I exist. I try to make it fun for them to visit, and if people decide to stick around for the stuff I’m promoting, great.

Comments are closed.