Posted by: Jodi | May 29, 2013

Podcasts for Writers

Let’s face it, not everyone can attend the various writing conferences and lectures that they would like too.  Either they are too costly or too time consuming.  However, when seeking out interesting and informative lectures and presentations you just can’t beat the ease of podcasts.

Here are a collection of great podcasts for writers:

1. Writing Excuses is hosted by Brandon Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Mary Robinette Kowal, and Dan Wells.  This podcast discusses the art of writing at its heart covering topics that appeal to beginning and advanced writers alike.

2. The Secrets, hosted by best seller Michael A. Stackpole, dishes out a smorgasbord of writerly wisdom covering everything from inspiration to solving various writing problems.

3. Meet the Writers is a collection of author interviews by Barnes and Noble.

4. The Writing Show aired it’s last episode in December 2012, but all the past episodes are available on the site.

5. TED Talks are geared towards anyone who wants to expand their horizons.  Everything from musicians to quantum physicists give talks about the things that most fascinate them.  And yes, even an author or two are thrown in the mix.

Now listening to these podcasts is easier than ever.  If you are using and iPhone or iPod most are availiable through iTunes.  If not, the audio files are available on the site.

Well, what are you waiting for? Go learn something new!

Responses

  1. Thou art a saint for posting these!

    • The first one is my favorite, I keep them on my phone and listen when I fold laundry. Makes folding almost fun.

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog! Thank you for your information. Trying to find your “like” button.

  3. These are great, Jodi. I’m so glad you came over to say hello to me, now I’ve bookmarked this page. I’ve watched TED podcasts before, but didn’t know about the others. Fantastic! 😀

    • So happy to see you here! Nothing better than finding a useful gem on the Internet, right? Hope you like them as much as I do.


Categories

