Freelance Copywriting, a stab in the dark

This year I’ve decided that it’s time to start making a little cash with my writing. Seeing that more gratifying methods, such as selling something, anything, to the markets, are not proving effective, I’ve turned to the pinch penny world of assignment copywriting.

There are several sites that offer the service of collecting assignments and then offering them to prospective writers.  Over the last few weeks I’ve researched three and here is what I have found.

freeelancerFreelancer.com: Not just for writing, but for any freelance job that can be done at a computer.  They offer a free membership which allows the user to bid on up to 10 projects a month.  Between site fees and client fees take a huge 13% of any earnings.  The payed memberships range from $5/month to $50/month.  Most projects seemed to pay way too little for what they were asking.

copify-logoUS.Copify.com: This site is specifically for copywriting and nothing else.  There are no fees and to join you must submit a writing sample.  This sample is then rated and writers can choose from projects up to that rating.  Ratings can be raised by receiving positive reviews and feedback. Each author maintains a profile page that tells potential clients what skills they have and in theory receive direct orders from future clients.  I received a standard rating and can choose from any job listed as standard or below.  Over the course of a week only two jobs were posted that I could choose from, which is a bit of a let down.  They pay using paypal.

textbrokerTextbroker.com: Also a site specifically for copywriters.  Similar to Copify, prospective writers apply and submit a writing sample which is rated.  I was rated a three out of five, which I read is generally what everyone gets.  This rating can be raised as well based on feedback from the Textbroker staff.  In contrast to Copify, there are more than enough articles to choose from.  Also, Textbroker takes extra steps to ensure that it’s running a legitimate business and requests for government issued ID and a W9 form.  Level three writers get around $0.01/word, level 4 $0.014/word and level 5 $0.05/word.  Still small peanuts, but it’s a start in the field and with experience and good ratings writers can move into receiving direct orders and building clientele which pay more.

For now I’m going to try Textbroker for a while and see if it takes me anywhere.  I’m not trying to pay rent with what I make and have the liberty of experimenting to see if this is something I want to spend my time doing.   If anything it’s a chance to learn about new and random things and get my writing out there, even if it’s not with my name on it.

If there is anyone out there doing copywriting on a more professional level, feel free to add your thoughts in the comments.

Happy Writing!

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Marketing and Publication, Opportunity Knocks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Freelance Copywriting, a stab in the dark

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, I’m always look for sites like this to make a little money.

    Venere

  2. ericjbaker says:

    It’s a grind trying to make money as a writer, isn’t it? a friend of mine did something similar to this for a year. She barely made any money for thye effort, but she built up a stack of clips that she used to get a corporate copywriting job, so there can be some benefit to it.

  3. Dianne says:

    good luck–tell me how it goes

    PLUS–if you aren’t going to use it with Daniel, I would like the baby reading course & materials BACK at your earliest–leave at your Dad’s He is a little darling, but now I see it doesn’t fit with your mothering style, really– (it was expensive & I don’t want to lose it) l, aunt dianne

  4. Amy Freeman says:

    I know Writer’s Digest is always posting opportunities like this from different companies. I haven’t looked into them but if WD is promoting them I trust it. Great idea. Who of us couldn’t use a little extra cash??

  5. Vishal says:

    As a veteran of such content mills, I should say that you should not write for any of these services, because they are stopping you from building your own brand. Rather than write five articles anonymously for stranger who you will never hear from, it is better to write one article for a client who actually knows your name, even if it is just an online pseudonym. At least they can recommend you to their friends, or give you more business later on.

    And don’t forget, Textbroker and its ilk take a hefty cut without providing any real service. For every $1.5 they pay their level four writers, they charge their clients $2.1 plus a flat fee of 0.30 cents an article. So a 500 word article that got you $7.5 from textbroker was worth $11.30 to a client. The difference, a sum of $3.80, is profit for textbroker. However, I don’t begrudge them their profits. What I do not like about using that site as a writer is that it does not help me in building my own brand.

    These days I write more for direct clients, and get most of my business, which is not much tbh, from recommendations. This is how it should be if you want to earn money by writing. Just my two cents.

    • tsuchigari says:

      The more I waste time using the site the more I am agreeing with what you shared. There are so many other opportunities out there that are not only more interesting but far more lucrative in the long run. For now I’m spending more time on my personal writing and seeking different markets.

      Thank you so much for coming by and sharing!

Comments are closed.