Posted by: Jodi | November 5, 2012

NaNoWriMo 2012

For a brief period this year I debated with myself about participating in this year’s NaNoWriMo.  As with any debate there were the pros and cons of a month-long writing torture fest.   Should I sacrifice what little time I have to create another manuscript?

Sure, I have plenty of ideas and finally enough experience behind the keyboard that there is a chance I could create something worth reading.  I could even hash out the fundamental elements of the sequel to my current manuscript.  I know there will be one, but I have no clue what the story is yet.  50,000 words of discovery writing might be just the thing to get it jump started.

On the other hand I haven’t written over 10,000 words in the past year, possibly the last two.  NaNoWriMo of 2010, the first and only year I participated, left me so burned out I didn’t touch my fiction work for months.  Attempting to do the same now with even less time and patience to spare might spell disaster on a larger scale.

After weighing the options I’ve decided to put off the contest for this year.  Instead, I’ve made some positive changes to my work space that will enable me to sneak in more time at the computer during the day.

For all of you NaNo’s out there, good luck.  I wish you the best and as always,

Happy Writing.

 

Responses

  1. […] NaNoWriMo 2012 (myliteraryquest.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] NaNoWriMo 2012 (myliteraryquest.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Like you, I was debating participating in NaNoWriMo. I decided against it for time reasons, but wanted to have some sort of writing challenge anyway, so I created my own – the 6AM Writing Challenge, in which I wake up at 6AM to write! I am doing this to force myself to write every day and to set aside a fixed time in which I can do so, without prioritising any other activity!


Categories

