Posted by: Jodi | September 10, 2012

Juvenile Fiction where have you been all my life?

I happened to stumble on a section of my local library that I didn’t know existed, the juvenile fiction area.  This is fiction written for grade school kids who aren’t quite ready for full fledged chapter books but want a longer story.

When I was a kid there were the picture books and then there were the YA books. I honestly don’t remember there being anything in-between.  Back then (which wasn’t that long ago) I read everything I could get my hands on including Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, Nancy Drew, Babysitter’s Club, and the Boxcar children.

Diary of a Wimpy KidProblem is, all of my childhood favorites are still a little advanced for my 1st grader.  He is a terrific reader and reading well above his grade level but having too many little words on one page is intimidating.  This is where juvenile fiction saves the day starting with the Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney.   I figured if his older cousins liked the books it couldn’t hurt to try.

He LOVES them!

They are perfect. Each page has a silly cartoon about what is happening in the story, and most of what happens are things my son can relate to.  His younger sister also loves having them read to her, although she doesn’t get the humor yet.

And the best part? After we finish this series there are two whole lines of bookshelves in our local library that are just like it!

Thank you juvenile fiction!

Responses

  1. The kids… they do grow up…

    A book I remember, lo those many years ago, was “The Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet” by Eleanor Cameron.

    My teacher read it to the class and I fell in love with it.

  2. Terrific sounding series, Jodi!

  3. I’ll have to look that one up Rik – sounds delightful. We’ve read through the Wimpy Kid series so fast I’m going to have to find another series quick. Maybe he’ll like Captain Underpants…

    • Too bad we’re not neighbors. Our bookshelves are buckling under the weight of Captain Underpants (and related spinoff series). Of course, that’s what we get from buying bookshelves at walmart…

      • I’ve currently in the process of weaning my son to another series and he is resisting like mad. It’s nuts. It’s like he thinks he will be losing a friend. Shame I can’t come peruse your library, I’m sure there are a bunch of great ones he would like!

        • Does he like to draw? CU is pretty easy to copy. That way, he can “stay in touch” through art while moving on to another series.

          • He’s only recently started liking to draw. What a great idea, he might really get into that.


Categories

