Name that Book Challenge #2

Today’s Name that Book Challenge comes from the required reading list for many schools.  These were selected from books I was personally subjected to during my formative years.  Two of the books are on my top 50 favorite  book list, or at least they would be if I ever sat down to create one.  Here are your quotes:

1. “Four legs good, two legs bad.”

2. “How can I help seeing what is in front of my eyes? Two and two are four.”

“Sometimes, Winston. Sometimes they are five. Sometimes they are three. Sometimes they are all of them at once. You must try harder. It is not easy to become sane.”

3. “Cleanliness is next to fordliness.”

4. “I need you to be clever, Bean. I need you to think of solutions to problems we haven’t seen yet. I want you to try things that no one has ever tried because they’re absolutely stupid.”

5.  “There’s much more. There’s all that goes beyond- all that is Elsewhere- and all that goes back, and back, and back. I received all of those, when I was selected. And here in this room, all alone, I re-experience them again and again. It is how wisdom comes. And how we shape our future.”

Answers will be posted this Friday as well as a big congratulations to whomever gets the most right.  Have fun and good luck!

Quotes found at http://en.wikiquote.org

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books and Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Name that Book Challenge #2

  1. Tomcat says:

    Ummm….

    1) Animal farm??
    2) Nineteen Eighty-Four.
    3) Brave New World

    4) – Sorry, I have no idea! 🙂
    5) again, no idea….

    Tomcat.

  2. Tomcat has the first three.
    Four is one of the Ender series, probably Ender’s Game.
    Five eludes me also. (

  3. #1. “Animal Farm” by Orwell (I first thought it was from Kipling’s “The Jungle Book,” but decided against that, because the mother wolf never really talked like that, as I recall.) Did I choose the right one?
    #2. More Orwell, but from “1984” (“Winston” is a dead give-away!)
    #3. Aldous Huxley’s “Brave New World”. (If my memory serves me right, the response to that was something like “And civilzation is next to sterilization.”)
    #4. Orson Scott Card from “Ender’s Game.” Once again “Bean” was the give-away.
    #5. From “The Giver” by some woman named Lowery – can’t remember her first name. this book was never on my required reading list, but I loved it. It is a peculiar little novel, and I should have been able to recognize it by the style, but for some reason or other I had to think longer on this one to come up with the answer. I had to put this challenge on the “back burner” for a while to get this one. (At least I’m pretty sure I got this one!)

    I love these challenges, Jodi!

    • tsuchigari says:

      Ding, ding, ding! We have a winner! I had a great time coming up with quotes that were a challenge but still within reach. There will be more challenges in the future, just for you. I promise.

  4. Pingback: Answers for Name that Book Challenge #2 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.