The World at Your Fingertips

Some may scoff at those who whip out their smartphones whenever and for whatever reason.  I know, I was one of them.  I used to think of myself as a bit of a purest when it came to using a phone as a phone and using a computer for well, everything else.  That was, until I was presented with my own little slice of technology’s greatest achievements – the iPhone.

You see, I live in a very technology aware household, and yes, marrying a software engineer has everything to do with it.  I can’t complain, it means that there is at least one or more fully functional computers at the house ready to do my bidding.  Plus, the in-house tech service is great, not to mention pretty darn cute.

With my new iPhone I’m finding all sorts of new ways to access the information I need, share it with the people I want, and do it in those fiddly bits of time that otherwise would have gone wasted.  While I still much prefer to do any real writing on a keyboard, say blogging and manuscript work and the like, I can now do nearly everything else on-the-go.  And with my two kids, there is a lot of “on-the-go.”

What’s amazing about these smartphones is that with a few knowledgeable clicks you can access any piece of information in the universe.  Well, at least nearly all earthly knowledge, you get the point.  Yet, most people are so content playing Farmville and texting and whatnot they don’t realize the power they possess.

Imagine if Benjamin Franklin had access to a smartphone.  (Ignore the whole time paradox thing that there would be no network to support it, this is hypothetical).  With his ingenuity and resources coupled with all that capability he would be unstoppable!  That, or he would be distracted by all the fun apps and never accomplish anything.  Hey, it happens to the best of us.

So if you are scoffing at the idea of a smartphone, think of the writerly tools you could be missing:

  • Digital voice recording for those ideas on the fly.
  • Easy eBook downloads from any source – great for access to the newest writing out there, plus most libraries have free eBook rentals.
  • Fast and easy reference of encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, and anything else you can think of.
  • Language translation tools
  • Access to Facebook, Twitter, and anything other social networking site for keeping current with fans and fellow writers alike.
  • Let’s face it, if there is something you  need, say a star map or a personal fitness coach, chances are there is an app (or several dozen) for that!

I loves my iPhone.

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The World at Your Fingertips

  1. Very nice. Of course the iPhone doesn’t have the corner on the digital market, the Google-based Android phones do their share of data swapping as well.

    I’m with you on this. I use many ways to access the Internet, and thence the huge amount of data (some even accurate) that is available at a click.

    It’s a wonderful, wondrous world we live in.

  2. Maybe someday . . .after the dental bills are paid! 😀

  3. Tsuchigari says:

    I tried to be careful to not be too enthusiastic about the iPhone by using the more generic term of smartphone. I might not have succeeded… I loves my phone.

  4. Geoffrey Cubbage says:

    I often want one just for blogging purposes…taking a photo on my current, non-smartphone (stupidphone?) and getting them onto my computer would take an expensive extra piece of machinery and a more expensive plan. A lot of “damn, that would be hysterical on my blog” shots never happen as a result.

    On the flip side, it means readers have to endure a lot less pictures of toilets and strangely phallic…anything, really. Except phalluses. Though if I saw one that counted as “strangely phallic” I might be tempted to post that too, learning no lesson at all from Anthony Weiner’s recent troubles.

    Heh. Weiner.

    • tsuchigari says:

      I’ll admit that having the ability to take a quick picture and email it anywhere has been very useful, and the pictures are great. I’ve taken some real winners, not weiners, mind you. I haven’t found too many ways to use it for the blog, yet – I’m sure I’ll run across some the longer I have it.

Comments are closed.