Posted by: Jodi | May 25, 2011

Transition into Summer

As a writer mom, the schedule is always changing.  Some days are school, some are play dates.   School is in it’s final weeks and then there is the long nothing known as Summer break.  For most, the end of school is a mixed blessing.  I look forward to having more freedom to plan activities but I will miss the routine of being able to ship off my oldest for a few hours.

Not that I got much done while he was gone, his sister sees to that.  When he’s around they will at times entertain each other.  When he’s not, she wants to use me as her chair and personal servant. I can’t complain. She missed out on a lot of one-on-one mommy time because she’s not the first child.  She starts preschool in the Fall.

Until then, we need to create a Summer schedule where they get to have fun and I can also get some good work done. I know that there are some great ways to do this, I just don’t know any.

Ideas?

Responses

  1. May I suggest a fun and creative-arts Day Camp? Once the kids were old enough to entertain themselves – more or less – I always loved Summer break, because I was never (until the last few years) a morning person, and hated getting up and getting them up for school more than they did!

    I’ll share with you an anecdote about my youngest, who is now the father of our granddaughter. I can put it here, because he won’t be reading your blog (so sorry – he barely reads mine!), and he hates for me to tell “Matthew stories!”

    When he was in Kindergarten (he started at age 4 because he refused to wait – he wanted to go to school so badly! That’s another story. Anyway, the way the KG system was set up where we lived, in order to give the child a taste of a full day of school, they divided the students in half (not individually, like Solomon suggested, LOL), and for the first half of the year one group went in the morning, and the other in the afternoon, then half-way through the year, they reversed.

    At the time of this “incident,” he was in the “afternoon session” part of the year, consequently, he ate lunch before going to school. I had his lunch made and ready in plenty of time, and he was sitting and slowly eating, as usual. I took the time to sit down and eat some lunch myself, while he waited for the school bus to arrive. As soon as I sat down, he started demanding all sorts of attention. He needed this, he needed that, gimme this, I want something else. . .it got quite annoying – a la your “personal servant” predicament with your young daughter! Finally, I sat down, turned and looked him right in the eye – so he knew I meant business, and said, “Matthew – you have a ROTTEN CASE of THE “GIMMES”, and quite frankly, I am TIRED of it!” He looked at me thoughtfully – and with the following utterance I knew that perhaps he had been watching too much TV, “Mom! Maybe you should try Doan’s Pills. . .”

    Since he will be 32 this year, he managed to survive childhood. . .and I guess I survived his, too – and I KNOW you will survive those years of your own! 😀

    • No worries about your son not reading here – most of my family doesn’t either unless I specifically tell them to, and then it’s still hit or miss. Love the story, love that some things never change. My son will randomly spout off commercials to me or catch phrases from TV shows – stuff that I would have never thought he would pay attention to. I’m starting to agree with the Kill your TV movement everyday!

      Must find a few summer camps – our sanity depends on it! We do start swim lessons this week, so that’s a step in the right direction at least.

  2. LOL. Great story.

    • TY! Jodi always tickles something out of my memory bank!

  3. I think the best thing is to do something they will remember without having to break any budget or sacrifice much time. Simple things like games or whatnot could be a good way to reinforce the moments you have. Arts and crafts, creating stories, being with each other.

    Then again, I’m pretty simple when it comes to what I missed out. I don’t have many positive memories from the family so I think that jades my vision a bit. Whatever you come up with, I’m sure it’ll do well. Just don’t think too hard or stress too much about it.

    • We have a great rec center that does hoards of things for young kids, I need to spend some time finding a few things that they both can do. My problem is that I don’t like leaving the house – must get over it or there will be some very long days ahead.

  4. I love nap time and bedtime for getting things done!

    • Amen! I just wish it was more predictable around here!


Categories

