Fun Friday: Name that Book

Below are some passages from some of my favorite books.  Nothing obscure or off the beaten path here, have fun and enjoy your Friday!

Quote #1

He held up a book then. “I’m going to read it to you for relax.”
“Does it have any sports in it?”
“Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True Love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautifulest Ladies. Snakes. Spiders… Pain. Death. Brave men. Cowardly men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passion. Miracles.”
“Sounds okay,” I said and I kind of closed my eyes.

Quote #2

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.

Quote #3

Space is big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind- bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts to space.

Quote #4

None of the children knew who Aslan was any more than you do; but the moment the Beaver had spoken these words everyone felt quite different. Perhaps it has sometimes happened to you in a dream that someone says something which you don’t understand but in the dream it feels as if it had some enormous meaning–either a terrifying one which turns the whole dream into a nightmare or else a lovely meaning too lovely to put into words, which makes the dream so beautiful that you remember it all your life and are always wishing you could get into that dream again. It was like that now. At the name of Aslan each one of the children felt something jump in it’s inside. Edmund felt a sensation of mysterious horror. Peter felt suddenly brave and adventurous. Susan felt as if some delicious smell or some delightful strain of music had just floated by her. And Lucy got the feeling you have when you wake up in the morning and realize that it is the beginning of the holidays or the beginning of Summer.

Quote #5

“Toohey: “Mr. Roark, we’re alone here. Why don’t you tell me what you think of me? In any words you wish. No one will hear us.”
Roark: “But I don’t think of you.”

Answers to be posted tomorrow!

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books and Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fun Friday: Name that Book

  1. Got all but the last one. And I recognize the dialogue of that one, just can’t place the book

    1. Princess Bride
    2. Lord of the Rings: Fellowwhip of the Ring
    3. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
    4. Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe
    5. I know it… I really do… but…. sigh.

  2. cassim says:

    #5 is my favorite, and has helped me get thru life. tooey was such a despicable, prejudiced, pinch brain, arrogant sheep when constantly lambasting roark, that this remark is even more remarkable. a wise man once said, “he who takes offence when NONE is intended, is a fool. he who takes offence when it IS intended is a fool.

    • tsuchigari says:

      I did #5 just for you because I knew you liked it! Without the context of the book it’s hard to really grasp the full significance of the quote.

  3. Here are my guesses:

    1. William Goldman, “The Princess Bride.”
    2. J. R. R. Tolkien, “The Fellowship of the Ring.”
    3. Douglas Adams, “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”
    4. C. S. Lewis, “The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe,” from “The Chronicles of Narnia.”
    5. Ayn Rand, “The Fountainhead.” (I would not have guessed that one except for the names involved!)

    Fun guessing. You can do this again! 😀

  4. No. 2 is one of the Lord of the Ring books, and No. 3 is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy but I have no idea about the others, I’m reading the comments to see what others say 🙂

  5. Pingback: Answers to Friday Fun: Name that Book « My Literary Quest

  6. Pingback: Answers for Name that Book Challenge #2 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.