Posted by: Jodi | April 27, 2011

Milestone post #300!

Yes, it’s official, there are now over 300 posts on this blog.  And of course being the mature individual that I am the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of the number 300 is this:

This blog has no intention of fighting off hoards of enraged Persians or developing a body builder quality six pack any time soon.  I will do my best however to continue to bring outstanding material and resources to my readers.

As not to forget milestone post tradition, here are some stats:

Top posts of all time:

  1. Medieval Castle Anatomy 101 [12,816 hits]
  2. Friday Fun: Paraprosdokian Phrases [7,897 hits]
  3. The Evil Adverb [4,122 hits] (thanks to Freshly Pressed)

Yes, that’s right – the castle glossary post gets more hits than anything I’ve written.  I suppose I have school kids to thank for that.  Goes to show that we have no control over what will attract attention.

Most commented on posts:

  1. The Evil Adverb
  2. The Writer/Mom Paradox
  3. So, What Do You Do?
  4. Weather? Or Not?

My favorites:

  1. Discussion: The Tragic Ending
  2. Writing with your nose
  3. Transforming Awkward Thoughts into Useable Text
  4. Three Great Reasons to Write a Query Letter Early

May the next 100 be as fun as the last!

Happy Writing

Responses

  1. Congrats! Looks like it has been a milestone week for both of us, as I reached my 10,000th hit yesterday since soming to WP. That pales in comparison to your fab stats, though! Good grief! Way more hits on ONE post than I have had total! Fantastic!

    Please, do keep up the wonderful, fun, and informative work, and the readers will keep on hittin’!

    • Congrats! 10,000 is a huge number, way to go! I honestly have no idea why that particular post has gained that much attention except perhaps that there aren’t that many solid medieval castle anatomy posts out there.

      Here’s to both of us keeping up the good work!

  2. Wow. I should do a story on medieval castles, eh?

    I’ve valued many of your posts, but I too liked the one about the early query letter. I’ve already written one for the novel I haven’t started yet.

    • Guess so, the world is hungry for that kind of info.

      Way to go on writing an early query, I hope you found it helpful. I had a crazy idea last night and think I might write up a query and see if I can go anywhere with it.

  3. That guy actually has an 8-pack, but it doesn’t matter because I think all the characters in that movie were CGI-enhanced anyway.

    Congrats on 300! Seems like only a short time ago you were celebrating 200. Such amazing prolificity! (I hope that’s a word. If it’s not, it should be).

    • 6, 8, who’s counting! I read that they did go through a boot camp to achieve their amazing abs. I’m sure for the posters and marketing there was a bit of CGI help to add a bit of oomph.

  4. Congratulations.
    I do enjoy your informative and entertaining posts.

    • Thanks! Hope to please. I’m also taking suggestions…

  5. Wow! You must be so proud of your popular site. Congratulations!

    • When I started I never thought it would get to this level, now it’s become something of a passion. Just wish I could balance blog writing time with novel writing time, would love to have the credibility of a published author!

  6. so proud of you

    so proud of you!

  7. Congratulations! Good job!

    • Thanks – one day I too will reach the mythical 1000 posts, until then – happy writing!


Categories

