Posted by: Jodi | April 10, 2011

Quickly Quotable #54 – Beverly Cleary

“I don’t necessarily start with the beginning of the book. I just start with the part of the story that’s most vivid in my imagination and work forward and backward from there.”

“One rainy Sunday when I was in the third grade, I picked up a book to look at the pictures and discovered that even though I did not want to, I was reading. I have been a reader ever since.”

“Writers are good at plucking out what they need here and there.”

“I don’t think children’s inner feelings have changed. They still want a mother and father in the very same house; they want places to play.”

Beverly Cleary

  • Born: 12 April 1916
  • Birthplace: McMinnville, Oregon
  • Best Known As: The author of the Ramona books for children

Name at birth: Beverly Atlee Bunn

Beverly Cleary published Henry Huggins, her first book, in 1950. The adventures of Henry and his neighborhood pals continued in a series of books featuring a spunky little girl named Ramona Quimby. Cleary has written over 30 books for children, including The Mouse and The Motorcycle and the Newbery-winning Dear Mr. Henshaw. Cleary has also published two memoirs, A Girl From Yamhill and My Own Two Feet.

Biography from Answers.com

Quotes from BrainyQuote.com

 

I dedicate this post to my special little girl who celebrates her birthday today.  Happy Birthday KK!

Responses

  1. Especially love the last one.

  2. I agree, a child’s needs have not changed – it is the changing needs of the parents that has made it difficult for children to feel fulfilled.


Categories

