You know you’re a writer when…

Something simple and funny for a Monday morning.

You know you’re a writer when…

1. The keys of your trusty keyboard are beginning to wear off. (I no longer have an “L” or “S”)

2. You can’t remember if the story you are thinking of is yours or from another book or movie.

3. The acronym NaNoWriMo makes sense.

4. You understand that writing a novel takes time, time, and did I mention, more time.

5. You have flashes of inspiration while doing the most mundane tasks, like sleeping.

6. When reading you mentally argue plot issues with the author instead of the characters.

7. You have found sneaky ways to turn conversations to books and writing so you can talk about your current project.

8. You find yourself grammar checking published books and articles.

9. You analyze movie plot lines, motivations, character profiles, and pacing with ruthless abandon to the dismay of your friends and family.

10.  You would rather part with your leg than access to your computer.

I hope everyone has a terrific day!

Happy Writing!

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to You know you’re a writer when…

  1. Angela Scorr says:

    I’m a writer! Everything you mentioned I can relate to. Take my leg, tke my leg, but don’t you dare touch my laptop 🙂

    Very good post. Thanks.

  2. captaindomon says:

    Here’s another: You can tell with 100% accuracy if someone is going to get a golden ticket on American Idol, by noticing how the producers “set up” their extended introduction.

  3. Guilty as charged. On all accounts.

  4. ha! Yes. Especially number 5. Love it!

  5. nrhatch says:

    Excellent list. Thanks, Jo.

    I find myself writing threads of dialogue in my head as I move about my day.

  6. Heather says:

    4, 5 and 8 were the only ones I could relate to here, but I enjoyed the chuckles–especially since I feel like more of a writer than I ever have. In fact, this morning as I was furiously working toward getting my thousand words in (as you suggested some time back), I was thinking to myself, tsuchigari should have a ‘question and answer’ section to her blog, as I pondered a few things about writing that were still a mystery to me. 🙂

    Thanks for your faithful and inspiring posts.

    • tsuchigari says:

      A Q&A page is a great idea! I’ll need a few days to figure out how best to do it. Great job getting your 1000 words, I’m stuck in editing mode and have a goal to get in at least an hour a day.

      Let’s keep on going!

  7. I would add that you never a new novel again without identifying author strategies for advancing the plot or clever wording or……

    • tsuchigari says:

      @nancycuretman – I completely agree! I almost added that one, it’s almost impossible to enjoy a new book for what it’s worth when part of your brain is keeping track of all the little technique details.

      • oldancestor says:

        Whenever I spot that overly artful construction, usually concluding a chapter or an act, I say, “Ha, Mr. Author. I bet you though you were pretty witty when you came up with that.”

        Artful phrases need to age about 100 years before they stop sounding pretentious and start being admired.

  8. oldancestor says:

    Ha ha to number 9. Mrs OA is always asking why I can’t just be quiet and enjoy the movie/book without pointing out narrative weaknesses or extraneous/redundant dialog.

    It’s so easy when it’s someone else’s work, isn’t it?

    Good thing we’re all brilliant here and don’t make those mistakes in our writing.
    😉

    • tsuchigari says:

      @ oldancestor – It’s so easy when most TV plots are so utterly transparent. I’m lucky that my Mr T is just as snarky as I am! Now that I’m going through my MS with a critical reader’s eye I can see just how not brilliant I was when I was writing.

      • oldancestor says:

        I made the “film school” mistake with my first manuscript of telling a non-linear story. Which is fine, except that the twist that comes halfway through requires a 50 page diversion to an earlier time and grinds the story to a halt. I never figured out how to keep my twist and still show the flashback.

        If I ever get a transfusion of clever, maybe I’ll figure it out.

  9. Pingback: What Writers are Writing « Copywrite1985

  10. Jessica says:

    Very funny insights and I relate to all of them.

  11. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    That’s very true! Made me smile 🙂

Comments are closed.