Posted by: Jodi | January 19, 2011

Happy 1st Bloggiversary!

O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!

My Literary Quest turned one year old this month and looking back at the past year, what an amazing journey it has been.  In the beginning I had no real concept of what I was getting into.   At that time, blogging meant posting interesting tidbits of knowledge from time to time for readers who would, in time, flock to the site in droves.  It was the time part I vastly  underestimated.  It turns out that these things take time and persistence, thankfully I have both.

In June I had a fantastic lucky break when Freshly Pressed featured my post “The Evil Adverb.” I should have been thrilled when it happened; but to be honest, I was terrified.  Without any warning there were not hundreds but thousands of people reading what I had written. Many were kind enough to agree with me.  A handful were helpful enough to point out every single flaw as well, giving me my first taste of what being critiqued en masse feels like.

I am blessed to have a wonderful bunch of regular readers.  Knowing someone out there appreciates what I do makes it all worth while.  I try my best to visit the blogs of everyone who leaves a comment, so don’t forget to drop a line when you stop by.

Here’s to another great year, I hope to fill the pages of this blog with posts that will amaze, inspire, humor, and amuse.  Keep tuned, the best is yet to come!

Many thanks,

Jodi

Responses

  1. Good morning Jodi and happy anniversary!!
    Keep up the good work with your post. I’m starting on this adventure and I find I need to just get out there and write something every day. I usually write at night so if you go to my site and don’t see a new post please try back later.
    God Bless

    • I checked things out over there, looks great so far. Keep up with your goals, the more you write the more you the hang of what you like. Go for it.

  2. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY!!! I think we have a conflict of spelling, however!! My 2nd year begins on February 11, so we are close to the same “age.” But, you are older and wiser than I, and have a MUCH larger readership! Hmmm…I wonder why? Could it be. . .QUALITY??? I think so! I love your blog, and it is always a treat and/or an education to read what you have to say.

    Here’s to many more years to come!

    XOXO Paula

    • @Paula – The happiest of blog-versaries to you! It’s hard to believe that it has only been a year, in many ways it seems like we’ve been at it forever. All the best to you this coming year!

  3. Congratulations, hope you carry on for many years; I don’t always comment, but I read every single post.

    • @cindy – You are such a sweetie! I am so appreciative of everyone who has been so supportive of this blog this last year. I’m not giving it up anytime soon, I promise!

  4. You’ve been wildly successful by any standard in your first year. Part of that success has come from reaching out to other bloggers and becoming their subscribers. I only found My Literary Quest because you found me first, and I won’t forget that.

    • @Mike – And I only found you because we both blogged about Fablehaven, it really is a small world. I am so excited for you and your new book – I’m serious about doing an interview here on the site all about it. All the best on your next project.

  5. Time flies when you’re having fun, eh, Jodi? Uphill Writing will be a year old in just 8 days. I’m thinking of throwing it a surprise party.

    You’ve come a long ways since I first found you–or did you find me?–in the first month of your blogging. I love what you’ve done with the place. Is that a new carpet?

    Keep up the excellent work!

    • @Rik – I can’t remember who found who, but it’s been a great friendship ever since. You’ve done some great things on your blog and put in a ton of work – I hope you are throwing yourself one heck of a party! And we all better be invited.

  6. Yay! Balloons!!! {{claps hands with enthusiasm}}

    Here’s to more of your posts which amaze, inspire, tantalize, humor, educate, and amuse. 😀

    • @NancyH- Don’t you have an anniversary around here somewhere also? Here’s to another year of fun.

  7. you are amazing, jodi. i’m always amazed at the stuff you dig up. best wishes on this anniversary.

    • Gee (blush) thanks dad.

  8. I think this calls for chocolate cake and ice cream!

    • @Heather – AMEN. I have M&M’s and a few other chocolates!

  9. Happy bloggaversary!

    • Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Part of what I like about this blog is the interactive aspect of it. You regularly invite reader opinion and keep people enganed, and the comments from your regulars are alway fun and enlightening.

    I look forward to another year of MLQ and beyond.

    • @Oldancestor – to infinity and beyond! I can’t say it enough, it’s readers that make blogging fun. I have learned so much from what you have added to the conversation, Thanks!

    • that’s great feedback. anyone would feel awesome hearing it. keep on.

  11. Congrats! Keep at it!

    • Thanks, in the end we’ll both we’ll get something published, right?

  12. Happy first Blogday. I look forward to reading many more of your great postings.

    • @NancyC – and I am looking forward to hearing about one of your mysteries available to the public to read. Can’t wait for the day when I can say, I knew Nancy from when she and I would comment on each others blogs!

  13. way to go. i’m waving fan flags your way. you r an eloquent writer and a pleasure to share my thoughts with while reading. keep on.

  14. Saw this site on a LinkedIn thread (the one where you ask people to offer you their sites for shameless self-promotion)–glad I did! Good site. Congratulations on this site’s success.

  15. I found you via “Spirit lights the Way” and started poking around. This is an amazing site and glad I came. I’m going to read ‘the evil adverb’ next. My blog is much newer than you, only four months old and I have a lot to learn. Will you be my mentor?


Categories

