Using Social Media to Market Your Work

Behold, the power of a network

As you might have noticed from Wednesday’s Twitter related post, I’m experimenting with using social media to increase the internet exposure of this blog.  More websites showing information about posts here means more chances for people to come and check things out.  More people to share with is always a good thing in my book!

The term “social media” refers to websites and such where the content is largely created by users for other users.  There are hundreds of sites that fall into the social media world but for the interest of time I will only be discussing the ones I have personally used.  For a more complete list check out the social media Wikipedia article.  (Wikipedia, being created by the public, is an example of collaborative social media.)

Facebook: Social networking at its most successful, and obnoxious, Facebook is a great way to share your thoughts and more. Users can connect to friends and join any of the thousands of interest groups.  Bloggers can link posts to their Facebook feed for greater visibility.

Linked In: A social networking site engineered for professionals to keep track of other people in their related fields and elsewhere.  Unlike Facebook there are no games or quirky interest groups, this site is strictly business.  And like they say in business, it’s not what you know, it’s who you know.

Twitter: A microblogging platform where people can share thoughts with their “followers.”  The posts cannot exceed 140 characters, which is barely enough to say much of anything.  It is perfect to point others to new blog posts or other sites.  As with Facebook there are plenty of interesting people and interests to follow as well.  I’m just getting started with Twitter and am still exploring all its different facets.

Meetup.com: A site designed to help people find others in their area who have the same interests and bring them together.  Great for finding critique groups, especially in major metropolitan areas.  I didn’t have much luck finding a writing group through it, but I know many others who have.

Skype: Phone and videoconferencing services over the internet.   Great for working in groups that can’t be close geographically.

This last week I linked this blog to both Twitter and Facebook. I would have done it earlier, but when I started this blog I wasn’t ready to share my new passion for writing with my friends.  The very idea that someone might take me seriously scared the daylights out of me.  Now that I have gained a bit of confidence and have an official work in progress I feel much more comfortable with coming out of the closet.  They might even like my work and tell their friends!  Hey, I can dream, can’t I?

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Featured Resource, Marketing and Publication and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Using Social Media to Market Your Work

  1. Michael Knudsen says:

    A great roundup of the heavy hitters in social media. Once you become a published author, a couple more will become very important: Goodreads will let you know who’s reading your books and give you access to immediate feedback on their reactions, while enabling you to promote directly to the reading public. Your author page on Amazon will also show your blog feed and allow you to show off both your editorial and customer reviews while promoting events like public appearances. There’s so much you can do beyond your own website!

  2. It’s about time, Jodi. ))

  3. nrhatch says:

    We’re more connected (and disconnected) than ever. 🙂

    Happy New Year! Here’s to 2011!

    • tsuchigari says:

      Sadly true isn’t it? I’ve spent far more time connecting to people I will most likely never meet in real life than with my family in town.

  4. oldancestor says:

    If you ever get on linkedin, look me up. I have a number of connections who might enjoy a writer’s blog.

    My name is fairly common, add “editor” and “New Jersey” in the proper places.

Comments are closed.