Twitter Vocabulary

Most Twitter users are familiar with the terms and abbreviations used to describe the service and its users.  However, since I’m new to the Twitter world, I’ve had to do a bit of research.  Here are a list of terms I’ve found along with a few suggestions of my own which are highlighted in red. In no way is this list complete, if you are looking for more technical terms along with others, click here.

Twitter: The service that allows average and not so average people tell others what mundane thing they are doing either by phone or email.

Tweet: a message created by a  Twitter user which is available to the public and sent to any followers Twitterfeeds.  It cannot exceed 140 characters.

Tweeps: One of several ways to refer to Twitter users. Others include “Tweeple” or “Twersons.” I guess calling them “Tweeters” is unacceptable.

Twit: Someone who spends most of their waking hours using Twitter, sending dozens of tweets daily about things that no one frankly cares about.

Twitwit: Someone who sends out dozens of daily tweets that are witty and fun to read.

Twitterstream – the list of others’ Tweets found when you log into Twitter.

Twoll: Someone who harasses others on Twitter to get a reaction.

Twitterverse: Like the blogosphere, but on Twitter. The Twitterverse is everything Twitter.

Twilebrity: A celebrity on Twitter.

Twitterfail: Someone using Twitter so badly it’s hilarious.

Twonk: A Twitter message that is impossible to understand, largely because it’s composed of unique abbreviations and acronyms never seen before.

Twerp: Someone who replies to your every Tweet with some sort of lame comeback.

Twitch: Someone who Tweets about other people in a negative way.  OR – A tweet sent off in haste that has no relevance to anyone else’s lives.  OMG I’m out of toothpaste!

Twyst: A love tryst played out in Tweets.

 

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Featured Resource, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Twitter Vocabulary

  1. Lisa Asanuma says:

    That’s quite a list. Welcome to Twitter! 😉

  2. That was Twooly a Tweet.

  3. Michael Knudsen says:

    I think I’m still an “antitwit”, one who has not yet been convinced of the value of Twitter and does not participate.

  4. I love Twitter. Only started using it a few weeks ago and I can definitely see its benefits to reach out to others about writing and other subjects. I’ve found people I never would have if it hadn’t been for being on there.

    Loved Twoll…makes me think of Elmer Fudd pronouncing Troll lol

  5. nrhatch says:

    Fun post. Thanks, Jo.

    If I start tweeting, I will now know not to refer to myself as a Tweeter, and shall do my best not to become a Twoll or a Twerp or a Twitch. 🙂

  6. cassim says:

    this is a whole new world. thx for the enhanced awareness.

  7. After reading this post, I can now communicate with my “way cool” grandson and not hear him say that I’m “so last week.”

  8. Pingback: Using Social Media to Market Your Work « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.