Posted by: Jodi | December 27, 2010

Writer’s Digest Magazine – The Gift that Keeps on Giving

Christmas has come and gone with its flurry of wrapping paper and hyper, sugar fed children.  Gifts were given and received with squeals of delight on all fronts.  In the frenzy I received two gifts that will directly benefit you, my readers.  The first was a year’s subscription to the acclaimed Writer’s Digest magazine accompanied by two issues and the Writers Digest University book which comes with a year’s access to the website, along with several other gems critical to writing and publishing.  Here’s a teaser from the Nov/Dec issue:

  1. Special Interview with Ken Follett and David Morrell
  2. The 75 Top Online Markets
  3. 14 Tips and Tricks for Writing Better Dialogue
  4. How to Lose Blog Traffic and Alienate Readers

Trust me, I will share the wealth!

The second gift is the means to attend a writing conference all by myself.  I can tell you that the thought of spending three days and nights totally immersed in the writing world surrounded by other people who are as passionate about the craft as I am, is enough to make me giggle with childlike glee.

Now the hard part, picking one!  I’m taking suggestions.

Responses

  1. Wonderful!
    Went to a weekend long conference once – was great!

  2. WD is a great mag, tons of inspiration and information.

    For a conference, you might want to consider the LDStorymakers Conference, which will be held right here in SLC May 5th-7th. Despite the name, there is no focus on LDS fiction and the guest authors and agents are mostly national-level people. The conference has grown exponentially and they expect more than 500 attendees this year. The “boot camp” they will hold on Thursday will put you at a table with 7 other writers grouped by genre and a published author “seargent” and you read and critique one another’s work all day. It was the best thing that happened to my writing last year.

    • Michael – I will definitely add that one to my list, thanks for the heads up. Will you be attending?

      • I’ll be there for sure, especially since my book will be up for a Whitney Award (the gala is held the Saturday night following the conference). This conference would be a great chance for you to meet a lot of LOCAL authors and possibly even join up with a long-term critique group. It’s really becoming a world-class event. Check out ldstorymakers.com to see pics from past conferences and who was there.

  3. I bought myself the 2011 Writer’s Market book for novels and short stories. For me, it’s easier to get motivated when I see possible destinations for my fiction.

    Those sound like the perfect gifts for you. And I’m glad the people around you support your goals.

    • @oldancestor – I completely agree, just knowing that there are so many markets that are looking for stories to print excites the writer in me. It’s like they need me!

  4. What terrific gifts. Have fun picking a conference. Julie (Write Up My Life) has attended several on the West Coast she enjoyed.

  5. @Nancy – Thanks for the heads up, I’ll have to ask her which one she recommends for a newbie like me!

  6. Delighted to hear about your treasures… especially the conference. I attended one once, back when all of my writing was in my head, and totally blew the opportunity. It sound like you, on the other hand, are ready to dive in and make the most of it. I’m thrilled for you.

    • I still feel very small in this big writing world, but not as small as I felt earlier this year. Here’s to trying new things!

  7. Jodi — here’s another conference you’ll want to check out, at BYU in February. Life, the Universe and Everthing. You can’t beat it for the money ($25).

    http://www.ltue.org/LTUE_2011.html


Categories

