A Fine Line between Dream and Reality

Princess Nuala from Toro's "Hellboy II: The Golden Army"

When it comes to crazy dreams the one that assaulted me last night is a new winner.  I blame it on last night’s overindulgence, too many cookies and sweets followed by trying to untangle the knotted mess of my manuscript as I waited for sleep.  There wasn’t even any Stilton cheese involved, I fear to think what would have happened if there were. I won’t attempt a synopsis, even now within an hour of waking, the structure of the thing has fallen into a thousand glittering pieces.

I did gather up as many of those pieces as I could, jotting down the basic idea any of the images that lingered.  It would make a terrific story if I could remember more.  I am hoping that I will uncover more of the pieces as the day progresses.  It’s days like these that make having a notepad or digital recorder handy essential.

It was beautiful and complex, full of modern architecture and impossible places.  If you were to combine Alice in Wonderland with Inception and have it directed by Guillermo del Toro, you wouldn’t be far off.  As with all dreams, I wanted to stay there and finish the puzzle.  I know I was close, the last pieces were about to snap into place when I woke.

It’s at times like these where I wish writing was my day job, I would love to spend a few hours outlining a book based on the ideas that fill my head and live in that alternate reality a bit longer.

Happy writing everyone!

 

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Concept Creation, Inspiration, World Building and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Fine Line between Dream and Reality

  1. Michael Knudsen says:

    Sounds like a great dream! Unfortunately, with each passing hour you will probably lose more and more of it. Even dreams that make big impressions don’t seem to stick around much in the conscious mind unless it recurs at least once more.

  2. Cindy says:

    Don’t ever give up the dream of writing becoming your day job, I believe it will happen.

    • tsuchigari says:

      In time it will, patience has never been one of my stronger suits. Soon the kiddos will both be in school and I will have a few undisturbed hours on a regular basis.

  3. Having all day to write, isn’t as wonderful as everyone thinks. You will find yourself going mad and screaming at your keyboard, but maybe that’s just me 😉

    • I think I understand what you are saying here Alannah.
      I often say I’d like writing to at least be my ‘main’ job. At the moment I work about 45 hours at the day job and spend a few hours every night and almost all weekends at my writing.
      My ideal would be something like 2 x 6hr days at the office with the rest of the time writing. My reasoning is that, without the constraints of the job outside of my writing studio, I am likely to forget to change out of my sleeping attire and wash my hair!
      I could also imagine finding less to write about without the constant interaction that the day job provides.
      I’m interested to hear other points of view on the topic.

      • If you have more writing time, you need to be really disciplined. It’s very easy to waste the entire day and not do a thing. I’ve experienced that plenty of times. In a way, a day job actually helps you be more productive so the ideal is something like what you mention. Of course, hard to find and be able to survive. I think it’s different for those published authors who are making a living at writing, as they also have book signings, talks, interviews and other marketing that probably helps them to clear their minds so they can sit down and write. I learnt, the hard way, that the grass isn’t always greener. I quit my day job and didn’t do anything but write for almost 3 months, and I was really going mad at time lol.

    • tsuchigari says:

      You have a good point, it takes a huge amount of discipline to be able to work as a full-time writer. Chances are I will never be writing full-time all day everyday, but someday in the next decade I hope to have more than I have right now.

  4. nrhatch says:

    Loved how you expressed this: “even now within an hour of waking, the structure of the thing has fallen into a thousand glittering pieces.”

    Aah, the fragments of dreams as they evaporate and fade away.

    • tsuchigari says:

      Thanks! Every once in a while something will fall out of my brain that reads like poetry – I find now that I’m writing more regularly that it happens more often.

  5. I love writing from dreams. Sometimes the ideas even make sense after waking, but much like the photographs you take on vacation, with the wind in your hair, the sent of trees or ocean, and the way you feel become snapshots when you show them to others because you’ve lost the emotional content, the context, I think many dreamscapes fail. We just can’t say it all on paper sometimes.
    Sigh.

    • tsuchigari says:

      Although recall will never be perfect, having a few fresh and unexpected ideas is always welcome. Unlike a picture as writers we have the chance to recreate the scene and evoke the same feelings. It will never be the same as the real thing, but it is better than nothing.

  6. CASSIM says:

    i wish that i could remember dreams. most of them involve getting the family from place to place while on vacation. but comfortably so.

Comments are closed.