NaNoWriMo: The Finishing Stretch

Well my fellow NaNo-ettes,  it is the ending stretch of NaNoWriMo, the month of novel-writing insanity.  For some, these last five days will consist of caffeine fueled marathon sessions of keyboard pounding to reach the last of those 50,000 words or more to finish up their tales.  For others, all that needs to be done is to verify their word counts and collect their goodies.

For me, boring and predictable from the start, it means plodding along at the same pace that  I’ve maintained all month and submitting on time, on the last day.  I must be part Vulcan to keep so doggedly close to my daily goals.  As for my stunning conclusion, it wasn’t until late last night that I figured out the final pieces.  Now, it’s a matter of getting it down.   I was hoping for an extra surge of excitement to help with this final push,  but in all honesty, I’m tired.  As much as I would love to sit and crank out a few thousand words at a time if given the chance, which I won’t, I don’t know if I could.

Yes, I will finish.  I’ve already started thinking of ways to alter the story and make it more exciting.  They will have to wait until later.  Much, much, later.  Finishing is never the end, only the beginning of the next phase – revision!

Good luck to all these last few days – whatever it takes, get ‘er done!

 

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaNoWriMo: The Finishing Stretch

  1. nrhatch says:

    Enjoy the final stretch.

  2. It’s almost over now, Jodi! Just stay with it.

  3. Congrats on your plodding along. As for me, I’m hovering around 30,000 and not sure I’ll hit the end by the deadline. That’s ok with me although I’m going to give it a good shot. I’m fitting a cold and tied down with family constraints, but getting off the web NOW and getting to work!

  4. tsuchigari says:

    Almost there! Happy that it’s nearly over. Will give a report soon on how it all went. @Kris – whatever you get done is still a major accomplishment, way to go!

  5. Hope you had fun doing Nano! I’m sorry I haven’t been around, between changing from Here Be Dragons to my new blog, I had to cancel all my subscriptions and re-subscribe again so I’ve missed tons of posts from everyone. Catching up slowly…

Comments are closed.