Posted by: Jodi | November 21, 2010

Quickly Quotable #34 – Agatha Christie

I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.

There is nothing more thrilling in this world, I think, than having a child that is yours, and yet is mysteriously a stranger.

I have enjoyed greatly the second blooming that comes when you finish the life of the emotions and of personal relations; and suddenly find – at the age of fifty, say – that a whole new life has opened before you, filled with things you can think about, study, or read about…It is as if a fresh sap of ideas and thoughts was rising in you.
An Autobiography, 1977

Agatha Christie

  • Born: 15 September 1890
  • Birthplace: Torquay, Devon, England
  • Died: 12 January 1976 (Natural causes)
  • Best Known As: Author of Murder on the Orient Express

Name at birth: Agatha May Clarissa Miller

From the 1920s until the 1970s Agatha Christie was the world’s most popular mystery author. She has sold more than two billion books worldwide. While other mystery authors like Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett came and went, Christie continued to turn out gentle stories of murder and detection in polite society, sometimes publishing two or three books in a year. Her two most popular detectives, Hercule Poirot and Miss Jane Marple, were featured in 30 and 12 novels, respectively. Dozens of Christie’s stories became movies, most notably the star-studded 1974 film Murder on the Orient Express. In 1971 Christie was made a Dame of the British Empire for her contributions to British literature and culture.

Christie’s play The Mousetrap has been running continuously in London’s theater district since its premiere on November 25, 1952. It is now regarded as history’s longest-running play.

Biography Courtesy of Answers.com
Quotes courtesy of BrainyQuote and QuotationsPage

Responses

  1. Agatha Christie fascinates me. I read her autobiography and found it compelling.

    “I’ve always believed in writing without a collaborator, because where two people are writing the same book, each believes he gets all the worries and only half the royalties.” ~ A.C.

  2. I am in awe of someone who can write so well backwards, as a mystery writer must do, starting as she must with the murder, and then bit by bit hiding the clues only to be found by the forward moving detective.

  3. Really love that first one. Thanks–I always enjoy your Quickly Quotables.

  4. I’m a huge Agatha Christie fan. I can’t think of another author whose books compel me to shout at them when I reach the conclusion. More than once I’ve actually leapt to my feet, book in hand, yelling at the poor inanimate thing for deceiving me so thoroughly.

    Anyone who has read “Curtain” or “Evil Under the Sun” will probably know what I’m talking about.

  5. A very, very clever writer. I like her attitude toward middle age, too. If only we could all see it as the beginning of a NEW life!

  6. Interesting info about the “Mousetrap.” I like Christie’s philosophy, especially her comment about children.

  7. @NrHatch – I saw that one as well and was torn on whether to include it or not, glad you did!

    @Rik – You know exactly how she did it, you’ve done it too! Now go write your query letter!

    @Heather – Thanks for stopping by, the first was my fav as well!

    @OldAncestor – That she was able to get that kind of a reaction out of you meant a job well done, would probably tickle her pink if she knew.

    @Michael – I plan on never reaching middle age and living forever. Or not. She had a terrific attitude, one I wish we all could share.

    @NancyC – The more I learn about her, and all the authors I cover, the more I would have loved to have met them. There are so many incredible, inspiring people in this world. Thank heavens some of them come and visit my little blog!

    Thanks to you all!


Categories

