Posted by: Jodi | November 14, 2010

Quickly Quotable #33 – Quotes for Writers from Writers

If my doctor told me I had only six minutes to live, I wouldn’t brood.  I’d type a little faster.  ~Isaac Asimov

Write down the thoughts of the moment.  Those that come unsought for are commonly the most valuable.  ~Francis Bacon

When you are describing,
A shape, or sound, or tint;
Don’t state the matter plainly,
But put it in a hint;
And learn to look at all things,
With a sort of mental squint.
~Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (Lewis Carroll)

The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes.  ~Agatha Christie

As for my next book, I am going to hold myself from writing it till I have it impending in me:  grown heavy in my mind like a ripe pear; pendant, gravid, asking to be cut or it will fall.  ~Virginia Woolf

Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness.  One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.  ~George Orwell, “Why I Write,” 1947

Every author in some way portrays himself in his works, even if it be against his will.  ~Goethe

 

Quotes courtesy of QuoteGarden


Responses

  1. Love it!

    Linking it!

  2. […] How To Find It? (Global Mysteries) * Bats, Writing Groups, and Submissions (Here Be Dragons) * Quotes for Writers from Writers (My Literary […]

  3. Great quotes, thanks!

  4. A great gaggle of quotes, Jodi! Love ’em!

  5. George Orwell’s quote on the ‘horrible exhausting struggle’ gave me pause for thought.
    For me, that describes the process of publishing: from the very first edit to the subtle negotiations on cover design…or so I am finding.
    The writing of the book, by comparison, was a fantastic, fascinating, fun and…yes… exhausting struggle

  6. These are keepers–thanks. Hope the NanoWrimo goeth well…

  7. Finishing a book is just like you took a child out in the back yard and shot it.
    Truman Capote

  8. @nrhatch – thanks for linking, I love sharing great quotes and these really made my day.

    @Michael and Rik – thanks for stopping by, I swear when this month is over I’ll return to being a regular over at both of your blogs!

    @Karen – I agree, I haven’t found the writing process horrible yet, just exhausting. When it comes to publishing I can only hope that I get that far.

    @Heather – Glad you liked them. I’m still on target to finish NaNo although the story is ending up way more superficial than I would like. Always room for editing and revision later, right?

    @Cindy – what a horrific quote! I tried to read one of his books and just couldn’t get into it.

    I will post something new this week – promise!

  9. I love Isaac Asimov’s comment. I might even paraphrase it to say, “I might live a little faster.”

  10. […] posts:   WTF:  Watch That Feedback * Our Field of Dreams * Our  Internal Compass * Quotes for Writers from Writers (My Literary Quest) * Let Go, Ego! * The Inner Path to Peace * Pop Goes The […]


Categories

