NaNoWriMo, Bring it on!

Monday is the big kick off for the annual writing event known as NaNoWriMo. Being a first timer, I have absolutely no sage advice that you should follow.  My strategy is straightforward – aim for 2,000 words a day.  This way there is a buffer for those hopefully few days that I can’t get my act together, like Thanksgiving.

At the beginning of September, I warned you all to start making plans and figuring out plots.  Naturally, I ended up spending maybe an hour planning my project.  Which is by far not enough, especially considering my subject.  I know it will slow me down, but with luck it won’t be enough to stop me.

I wish I could keep up my regular blogging schedule as well but for me I will need every baby free minute to put towards the new manuscript.  During the month of November, posts will be sporadic and short.  I can guarantee the quickly quotable Sunday posts, but not much else.

A few weeks ago I was planning on prewriting a dozen or so posts so that this blog would remain active.  Didn’t happen.  Instead, I’ve spent most of my time working through my current manuscript’s latest revision so I can lay it to rest until at least mid December.   I’m close, but progress is slow.  The last eighth of the book has so many great moments that it’s hard to do justice to them all.  The original draft was a line sketch at best, I have plently of filling in to do!

Everybody start your engines, the race is on.

 

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Personally Speaking, Plotting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to NaNoWriMo, Bring it on!

  1. aardvarkian says:

    I’ve spent around three hours preparing my NaNo project. It should be enough.

    It had better be enough.

    2000 words a day sounds like a good target. Good luck.

    • James, any preparation is better than none. This year there will be nearly 200,000 participants at the starting gate, and if 50,000 of them cross the finish line it will be amazing. Many who have signed up will not start on day one, and will let that error color their efforts. They may quit without ever writing a single word.
      The fact that you have put time into your plan puts you way ahead of the pack already.

    • tsuchigari says:

      Bring it on – YeeHaa! You’ll do fine.

  2. Jodi,
    If you put the same effort and heart into your NaNo endeavor that you do into everything else you do, you will easily sprint by most of the runners, and all of the walkers and crawlers.
    You’re gonna love-hate NaNoWriMo while you’re doing it, but when it is all done–and the time goes by very fast–you will be proud of the effort, and satisfied with your work.

    • tsuchigari says:

      Thank you for your kind words, this is going to be quite the experience! So far things are running smoother than I had originally imagined. And to boot this manuscript is coming out far cleaner than the epic. Guess I have learned a few things!

  3. Michael Knudsen says:

    You can do it! And you’ll be glad you did come Dec. 1.

  4. Good luck to all NaNo participants. Maybe I’ll get to it next year.

  5. Eleven Eleven says:

    I’m giving it a go, too. I have a plot summary! I have character names! I have basics of a paranormal aspect figured. I hope that’s enough. It doesn’t feel like it, but Monday’s coming whether I’m ready or not.

    Good luck! It’s going to be an exciting month.

  6. oldancestor says:

    Good luck everyone. Don’t be afraid to color outside the lines!

  7. Good luck. And for those of us who live in far flung places, I hope you can put together a good in-depth wrap of the whole process when it’s all over.

  8. Laura says:

    I signed up for NaNoWriMo (first timer, too!) but haven’t written one word yet. It seems to me that there’s already a small chance I could catch up, given my hectic schedule, even if I only missed the first two days.

    • Hi, Laura (Jodi, hope you don’t mind me jumping in).

      My first NaNo (nine years ago), I missed a few days and gave up. In the years that followed I realized that I could have caught up in a single day, a Saturday or Sunday, for example.

      The trick is to just keep writing. With your internal editor turned off, you can write like the wind. Nobody is going to say what you write is bad (or good for that matter), but you. And you should just ignore the editor and keep hitting keys.

      I promise you–PROMISE–that if you stay with it, on November 30th you will feel 10 feet tall and very, very satisfied.

      -r

      • tsuchigari says:

        Thanks Rik – I’ve been struggling to keep up. As always your advice is spot on. My editor has been far to active for my needs this month and I’ll need to lock him away if I’m to keep my sanity.

        Keep at it Laura – keep plugging away and shoot for at least the minimum goal of 1,667 words a day. Whenever possible do as much as you can to help out with those days when you are forced to miss or when life gets in the way.

Comments are closed.