Posted by: Jodi | October 27, 2010

Fun With Wordle

With the upcoming crunch of NaNoWriMo today’s post will be short and sweet.  I discovered a website that enables normal people to create beautiful word clouds like the one above.  The site will convert text into pieces of art with only a click of a button.  It will even take a URL and pull text from that – the above example is what I got when I entered the URL for this blog.

Once you have created your word art, you have the freedom to play with font, colors, and shapes.  Want to remove a word, simply right-click it and select “remove.”

Go check it out – Wordle.net

 

Responses

  1. Cool!

  2. I’ve been using Wordle for about six months now, both for work purposes and just for fun – I update my blog’s About page with a new Wordle every now and then, just to illustrate what’s currently on my mind. Brilliant, isn’t it?

    • That’s a great idea to use it for an about page – I’ll have to remember that. Thanks for sharing!

  3. It’s a fab site, I’ve been hooked on Wordle for almost 2 years now and do one every Sunday morning to sum up my week for my journal.
    Enjoy it.

    • I love that! How fun to go through and look at the collection of the years thoughts.

  4. Love it! Thanks for the idea for an easy post. Best of luck as your start NaNoWriMo.

  5. How the heck did you get the Wordle to show on your blog? I grabbed the screenshot, but can’t figure out how to get it into a file format that WordPress will accept. Please share the tech savvy!

  6. Okay, I get it: use Paint. Sorry for the comment-a-rama.

    • Glad you figured it out – I was going to mention how to copy/paste it but time got away from me. Yours turned out awesome!

  7. thank you! that was fun.

  8. Awesome…See you over at nanowrimo?

    • Yes, I’m there – that explains why my comment responses are taking so long!

  9. […] more on NaNoWriMo, swing by:  Uphill Writing * My Literary Quest * Aardvarkian Tales * Maggie Madly […]


Categories

