Posted by: Jodi | September 26, 2010

Quickly Quoteable #26 – Douglas Adams

He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence, and it was often difficult to tell which was which.

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
“Last Chance to See”

He felt that his whole life was some kind of dream and he sometimes wondered whose it was and whether they were enjoying it.
“Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy”

Douglas Adams (1952 – 2001) was the creator of the The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, a whimsical science fiction novel published in 1979. The Hitchhiker’s Guide was originally a BBC radio program first broadcast in 1978; later the book and its sequels became cult favorites with college students and sci-fi fans around the world. The book’s popular characters included Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect and Zaphod Beeblebrox; sequels included Restaurant at the End of the Universe (1980) and So Long, and Thanks For All the Fish (1984). Adams also wrote Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency (1987). Adams died in 2001 after suffering a heart attack at a gym in Santa Monica, California.

Because Adams’s middle name was Noel, he is often referred to as “DNA” by fans.

Biography courtesy of Answers.com
Quotes courtsey of QuotationsPage.com

Visit the Douglas Adams Website

Responses

  1. This is me . . .

    “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I need to be.”

    Thanks, Jo.

  2. A great man, a great writer. Just glad we have his writing to remember him by.

  3. It is amazing to me how his work is so far-reaching. Snippits of his prose show up in the oddest places. He is quoted, for example, in Stephen Hawkings’ latest book.

  4. I love this guy – have fore years, and you chose some great quotes. I will add to his observation that even f I’d ended up where I wasn’t supposed to be, I’m there. And, of course, no matter where you go, there you are. . .:-D

  5. Love these–thanks.

  6. I remember laughing until I had abdominal pain as a teenager reading the Hitchhiker’s Guide. It was just the right kind of humor at that point in my life.

  7. I was able to initiate my hubby to Hitchhiker’s Guide when we were on a car trip years ago. A terrific experience, he has never looked at the world the same way since.


Categories

