Posted by: Jodi | September 8, 2010

NaNoWriMo Is Coming!

Although it sounds like some sort of anime creature like Domo or Pikachu, NaNoWriMo is nothing of the sort.  National November Writing Month is a chance for writers to hold a writing marathon. The goal? To craft a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

Here is the directive straight from NaNoWriMo’s site:

What: Writing one 50,000-word novel from scratch in a month’s time.

Who: You! We can’t do this unless we have some other people trying it as well. Let’s write laughably awful yet lengthy prose together.

Why: The reasons are endless! To actively participate in one of our era’s most enchanting art forms! To write without having to obsess over quality. To be able to make obscure references to passages from our novels at parties. To be able to mock real novelists who dawdle on and on, taking far longer than 30 days to produce their work.

When: You can sign up anytime to add your name to the roster and browse the forums. Writing begins November 1. To be added to the official list of winners, you must reach the 50,000-word mark by November 30 at midnight. Once your novel has been verified by our web-based team of robotic word counters, the partying begins.

So, who’s in for this year?  If you are a planner and a plotter then now is a good time to start daydreaming up a few scenarios and characters.  If you take a more flowing approach, as in writing as you go, you still might want to have a few ideas tumbling around before the start date.

For all you word quota people out there, myself included, 50,000 words in 30 days equals about 1,666 words a day.

This is a great chance to let out that pent-up idea and get a nifty blog badge as well.  Let me know if you’re in.  For now, I am willing to give it my best shot.  As the old saying goes; nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this, Jodi.
    This November will be the eighth NanoWriMo for me. I have vowed to do one of these every year until I can no longer write or type. Frankly, I have no idea what it is I’ll be doing this time, but to miss this opportunity is out of the question.

    • You go Rick! Why don’t you display your badges on the site?

  2. Although I haven’t actually signed up, I like to ride the combined energy of all those people pounding furiously at their keyboards to set some high goals for whatever WIP I’ve got going in November. Last year I got about 80% of a final draft done in November – with most of that over a 5-day Thanksgiving weekend. Without that push it may have taken another six months. Nothing beats long blocks of uninterrupted time. Long live NaNoWriMo!

    • That’s a great idea – nothing like powering through things that need to get done. I’m hoping by November I’ll be at a place where I need a little breather from the WIP and get a great head start on a future project.

  3. I did it last year for the first time and I recently re-read that novel and was quite happy with its resulsts. So much so, I plan to edit it and send it out to agents one day.
    I definitely recommend NanoWrimo. It’s a great experience!

    • That’s great that you ended up liking the book you wrote. My fear is that I would hash out a huge pile of dribble and end up reading it and recoiling in disgust. As it get closer I’m getting more and more excited to give it a try.

  4. Oh and I meant to say…I am hoping to participate this year. Just depends on whether or not I accomplish my goal of starting to query for my first novel. If so, then I am definitely in 🙂

  5. Hahaha–sounds like fun, but a little bit scary. As long as we don’t have to post our 1,666 words on daily blog posts.

    My only problem is that I’m having a hard enough time keeping up with the new 1,000 word quota–I don’t know if I’d actually be able to do it.

    • Oh goodness no! Having to post it would be awful. I’m doing a 1000 a day quota as well up to 5000 words a week, I like happy round numbers. As long as I don’t obsess over the details I can get it done in about an hour. Of course at this point I’m creating new chapters to replace the ones that had to be chucked at the first slash and burn edit. Editing this is going to be a different story.

  6. I can’t think about NaNoWriMo in September . . . I’m too busy avoiding pre-mature Christmas displays in stores.

    • Were you thinking about it before then…?

  7. We’ll see. I never made it past 15,000 words last year. I took on too much, seeing that I was in college this time last year.

    Like I said, we’ll see.

    • Do it! It’ll be fun. What’s the worst that could happen? You lose 60-90 hours of your life. Perhaps something really great will come out of it, you never know.

  8. include me out === for this year, anyway.

  9. Be careful. It may come back to haunt you one day.

    😉

    It sounds like fun, but I don’t think I can squeeze it in this year. Why didn’t I hear of this last November when I was unemployed?

    • I learned of it two months too late for last year’s when everyone was coming down off their wild ride.


Categories

