Posted by: Jodi | September 1, 2010

Snack Time Ideas for Writers

No writer I know can eat everything in sight and still keep up a girlish (boyish?) figure.  Heck,  it’s a rare day when I can find pants that fit, I’d hate to “grow” out of them. The sad fact is that writing is a sedentary profession by nature.  That doesn’t mean we are condemned to an ever-expanding southern hemisphere.  That said, sometimes things go better if we can snack.  So here it goes, some great snacking ideas for while we are plugging away at the next bestseller.

The snack criteria are as follows: it can’t be crumbly, gooey, or terribly caloric.  It can’t be able to get stuck in my keyboard either.  I paid good money for my ergonomic beauty, I plan on it lasting for a long time.  Having nutritional value is a perk.  Here’s what I came up with:

  • Seedless Grapes – sweet, small, and very clean, unless you drop one and then step on it.
  • Apple slices – Yes, these might leave a little juice on your fingers, but not enough to get them disqualified.
  • Dry Cereal – Terrific to munch on and a huge selection. They are enriched with all sorts of vitamins, minerals, and often a bit of fiber.  Avoid the kind where you can see the sugar on the outside, they tend to leave fingers sticky.
  • Dried Fruit – Raisins, apricots, cherries, and cranberries pack a lot of nutrition and flavor in little packages.  They can be a bit caloric so be aware of portion sizes.
  • Pretzels – Crunchy, salty, and surprisingly low in calories per serving.  Avoid flavored varieties, they leave powder on the hands.
  • String cheese – It’s not just for kids! Plus, it’s very therapeutic to pull it apart into tiny strands.
  • Cheese cubes – For those with more refined taste, cut tiny cubes of your preferred hard cheese and use a toothpick.
  • Dark chocolate chips – You can nibble on around 30 small chips for 100 calories.  Think of the isoflavenoids!
  • Veggie sticks – Branch out from carrot and celery sticks. Try yellow squash, bell pepper, sweet pepper, jicama, sweet potato, and baby tomatoes.
  • Popcorn – Stick with air pop and you can have 3 cups for 100 calories.  Sinless snacking with a fiber punch.
  • Nuts and Seeds – Although these break the low-calorie rule, they are packed proteins and fiber. I have to include them. Plus, they are super yummy.

Just because these treats are healthy doesn’t mean you are allowed to eat with reckless abandon.  Plan them into your overall diet as a great way to boost your count of fruits and veggies.  There are times where you need to spend hours on end in front of the computer.  Plan in advance to have some of these tasty treats on hand to keep you going without damaging your bottom line.

Happy Eating Writing!

Responses

  1. I wish I’d got that habit when I was a skinny person. It would have been so much easier. ))

    • You can do hard things, you wrote a book for heaven’s sake!

  2. What – no donuts?

    • Sadly they don’t met any of the criteria. They are crumbly, sticky, and have no redeeming value except tasting like a little chunk of heaven.

  3. Yeah, but what snack do you eat to combat the hemorrhoids? 😀

    BTW, in summer it’s a wonderful refreshment to freeze your grapes. Just wash ’em and stick them in the freezer! It’s just like eating a sweet grape sorbet!

    • Frozen grapes are the best! As for the ‘roids, the fiber helps but the best suggestion is regular exercise.

  4. I’m with you, Jo.

    Generally, I stick to coffee in the morning and water in the afternoon. If I get hungry:

    * Chex Party Mix (a/k/a cereal)
    * Trail Mix (Nuts, raisins, & M&M’s (a small bowl)
    * Watermelon cubes (with a fork)

    Luckily, when I’m really in the zone, I don’t even think about stopping to eat.

    • I end up picking all the goodies out of the trail mix, usually the M&Ms and almonds disappear first. Watermelon sounds good, shame the season is coming to an end.

      Perhaps I should spend more time writing and less thinking about food.

  5. Don’t forget to remind snackers that dipping any of the above into ranch dressing, salsa con queso, honey, or whatever your delicious-coating-of-choice may be will negate a big chunk of the “healthy” credit.

    That said, I dip away merrily, but I’ve got one of those eat-everything-in-sight metabolisms. It’s a struggle to keep my waistline from shrinking, rather than expanding. Sounds like fun, until you think about the grocery budget!

    • You poor thing.

      😉

    • Yes, we have no pity for you O skinny one. I’m all for dipping but couldn’t include it on the list due to the mess on keyboard factor. If it wasn’t for that I’d have peanut butter on everything.

  6. Oops–you forgot chips! Oh, come on–can’t I include them with your ‘getting creative with veggie-sticks’ list?

    You know what I really like? I put my little yoghurt containers in the freezer–then I just grab one or two, microwave for 15 seconds to soften them just a bit–and they’re a great, satisfying snack. 🙂

    Heather

    • I always get greasy fingers with chips, and the tiny fragments get everywhere. There are a few that are baked that work great.

      I love the idea with the yogurt, I’ll have to try that.

  7. I don’t snack when I’m writing. Being hungry brings out the tortured artist in me.

    • I only snack at late evening sessions – it keeps me from wandering away from the keyboard. You can’t be a tortured artist without a bottle of spirits nearby, you could count that as a snack.

  8. i’m glad that you could include dried cherries.

  9. Yumm yumm yumm I love this post- but it made me hungry 🙂
    Hmm, my favorite snacks when I’m writing? Coffee & Chocolate, you can never go wrong with this pair. I also like popcorn, but if I’m in my “healthy/green” mood, I can have some fruits as well.

    • You can never go wrong with chocolate. Lately if I indulge too much it gives me heartburn, guess I’m getting older. Grrr.

  10. I must say, those grapes look delicious!! As soon the mini 100 grands are gone, I’ll stock with the snack drawer with better stuff. Man, I’m a junk-a-holic. I should join a group first. Lol.

    • I only wish those grapes were mine – I had to grab an image from wiki commons (copyright free images). My grapes are moldy in the fridge! I love those mini 100 packs, but I can never justify getting them. My kids would steal them before I have a chance to eat any!

  11. Have to admit, I go straight for the chocolate biscuits.

  12. […] Jodi Milner ~ My Literary Quest: Jo realizes that writers do NOT live by bread alone ~ they need C~H~O~C~O~L~A~T~E.   (Hold […]


Categories

