Posted by: Jodi | August 20, 2010

Daily Writers Challenge: How to Hook Your Readers (via Uphill Writing)

After this post vacation is officially over. It was really nice to step out of the flow of normal life for a while, but like all things it had to end. I’ll spend some time Monday sharing all the fun things we did.

For today’s post I’m reblogging from my buddy Rik over at Uphill Writing. His post is about a topic that it vital to all writers, hooking readers.

Daily Writers Challenge: How to Hook Your Readers Some call it the hook, some call it the lead.  Whatever you call it, it had best reach up out of the pages and grab your reader by the collar. At the Fremont Area Writers Club meeting some months ago, we had Verna Dreisbach, a literary agent, speak to us about what it takes to get noticed by an agent.  She essentially said, “…when I pick up a query letter, I look for the first thing that will make me put it down…”  She went on to explain that … Read More

via Uphill Writing

Responses

  1. Thanks, Jo.

    Glad to hear you plan to share your vacation with us on Monday.

    • I only wish it had been to somewhere a little more exotic!

  2. I’m looking forward to hearing about your vacation. Where you went and how you handled your blog.

    • Tomorrow’s post will cover writing on the road (or in my case, the lack thereof…) and how I chose to deal with the blog while I was away. Hope you like it!

  3. Hi tsuchigari–

    I’m a poet, not a fiction writer, but I can relate to the daily writing quest. I’ve been at it now for six months. It’s going well.

    I did the NaNoWriMo last year (or was it the year before?) I’m planning on trying it again this Novemeber. I’d really like to write a Novel In Verse.

    If you’re planning on doing the NaNoWriMo, let me know. It would be good to know someone else who is doing it.

    Keep writing…every day!

    ~~~~~~~Don

    • I’m still trying to figure out if I can survive NaNoWriMo with my time constraints. It seems like a ton of fun and a great way to jump start the writing of a new book. Keep checking back, If I decide to take the plunge there is sure to be a post on it here.


Categories

