4 Do’s and Don’ts of “Show, Don’t Tell” (via Global Mysteries)

I’m officially on vacation! To truly celebrate I’m not going to stress about writing my posts this week. Nancy over at Global Mysteries wrote a great piece about showing and not telling that I would like to share instead. Enjoy!

4 Do’s and Don’ts of “Show, Don’t Tell” When an editor says, “Show, don’t tell,” what exactly does that mean? It’s more than a string of adjectives or details. Showing allows the author to tell the story through the action, words, thoughts, senses, and feelings of character's. Perhaps this list of do’s and don’ts will clarify. When an author “shows” s/he: • makes description part of the action. Not: The floor was old. But: The worn floor creaked with each footstep on the warped boards. … Read More

via Global Mysteries

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Art of Writing, Visual writing, Writing Exercise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 4 Do’s and Don’ts of “Show, Don’t Tell” (via Global Mysteries)

  1. I consider it a great compliment that you like my posting, considering what a fabulous blogger you are.

    • tsuchigari says:

      [Blushing] Thanks for having great material to chose from! When I was going through the posts in my email yours resonated with me. Showing and not telling does not come naturally yet, and I crave the day when it finally does.

  2. nrhatch says:

    Have a wonderful vacation . . . and PERFECT pick of a Guest Blog for Monday morning motivation.

  3. oldancestor says:

    Well said, Nancy. Nothing will improve a writer’s craft more than embracing this concept.

Comments are closed.