Posted by: Jodi | August 2, 2010

Nope, Not dead yet.

Yes, it’s true – after months of getting my posts out on time I have managed to let life get in the way.  Today’s post is officially late.  I can’t tell you how late, but I started writing it 15 minutes after it usually goes live.  Whoops.  I’d love to say it was because I was out last night having a great time until all hours.  The truth is I had a killer case of ‘cantfallasleepitis’  coupled with kid #1 waking every hour and a half with fever dreams.  At one point he thought his room was on fire and wanted us to come and blow it out.  A different time he woke rambling on about something Tom and Jerry related.  He would wake, hubby (blessed hubby!) would deal with it.  I would wake also, listen and then spend the next hour trying to fall back asleep.

The last nail in the coffin – kid #2 woke screaming at 5:15am, 15 minutes before I was supposed to wake up and write this post.  After lots of cuddling we managed to get her back down and flop back into bed minutes before the alarm.

If I was more dedicated – or heck, getting paid to do this – I might have managed to shovel myself out of bed, dribble down the stairs and craft a post about a topic we actually care about.  Sorry, dedication and grit will only get you so far and I need to survive the day with the smear of wits the night has left intact.  I shut off the alarm, buried my head in the pillow, and waited for the kids to wake for the day.

It’s officially ‘Attack of the Zombie Mom’ day!

Beware the Mombie!

Who says I can't be a Sexy Zombie?

Responses

  1. Sometimes even life gets in the way of life.

  2. What a great post, though. I remember those years–when the kids would keep me up at night: slows you right down to where every second counts, and your greatest aspiration is just to get past all the chaos and back to bed.

    Hope you get some rest and refreshing times in the days ahead. 🙂

    Heather

    • We had a thankfully quiet day after that. I didn’t get anything cerebral finished. Last night we all slept like the dead!

  3. “Life. Don’t talk to me about life.” Marvin the Paranoid Android.

    • Love Douglas Adams!

  4. Beware the Mombie! : )

    Awesome post, Jo. I had a similar problem last night . . . brain wouldn’t shut down to allow me sufficient shut eye.

    Of course, my problem was minor in comparison to yours . . . no restless kids and no need to answer to an alarm.

    • Have plenty of that as well! My kids rarely wake at night so having them wake over and over was really hard.

  5. You schedule your posts so tightly that fifteen minutes is “late”? Good heavens.

    • Well, no… I’m scheduled to post MWF at 7:30 am. The more regular the posts the better SEO. Couldn’t hurt to have better stats and more followers in the long run, eh?

  6. i hope that #1 is better now. poor little kid. hope that your energy stays up to deal with 2 kids.

  7. I know more people with insomnia than without. Something is wrong with modern life.

    • I read something about disrupted sleep rhythms due to electric lighting. Back before the electric light people regularly slept over the standard 8 hours, often as much as ten hours a night!

      • I also feel like we’re expected to be on the go all the time. Gotta go to work, gotta take the kid to his friend’s house, gotta write the blog, gotta go to this appointment, gotta work on my manuscript, etc.

        Do you ever fin dit hard to just sit back and relax? I do. I feel guilty if I’m not accomplishing something.

  8. Jodi, sometimes life gets in the way, the real world becomes too real and doesn’t let us escape to our ‘fantasy land’ and that’s okay…
    Btw, love the sexy-zombie-mummy look 🙂

    • I wish that that zombie was me! Found it in an image search.

      • I dated a sexy zombie once. They smell very bad and tend to be bitey. Overrated experience.

  9. This was great. The Joys of Motherhood.


Categories

