Posted by: Jodi | July 19, 2010

How to Void your Warranty

Yes, this is my computer

The other day I mentioned my computer issues and what I might do to fix it.  Well, this weekend we cracked open the beast for the third time in its short life and ripped out all the pieces.   The  hard drive is hanging out in its pink static free bag on the desk waiting for me to begin the long process of transferring the files to the other laptop.  The other bits are nestled in their own static free bags waiting for a blast of canned air.

Don’t try this at home.

No, really.  Most computers, especially laptops, come with a warranty that specifically instructs the user not to open the casing – ever.  If they suspect you’ve tinkered around inside then POOF, no more warranty and any fixes have to come out of your own pocket.

Never fear, ours was already off warranty when we dissected it.  We are ordering a replacement fan (Yay, Ebay!) that was thankfully cheap and hope that it solves the problem.

Until then,

Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. I can’t face the day my computer dies 😦

  2. I sure wish I knew how to fix my own computer.

    • It helps a lot to marry a programmer 🙂

  3. If you’ve had (or will have) computers for any length of time, they will fail. What I find amazing is how long they last given their near-constant use (and sometimes abuse).

    When Jodi suggesting a daily backup of your work last week, she was saying something that should be gospel for computer users.

    That said, if all or most of your work is going into storage online, in a blog, for instance, you already have a backup.

    Most of the (writing) data we put on our computers could fit on a diskette–honest! Now, if you collect photos or videos, that’s a whole new kettle of ham.

    • Amen!

  4. Have another HIT of canned AIR! : )

  5. […] How to Void your Warranty « My Literary Quest […]

  6. Did you get a chance to read about my “Habitless Life?” 😀 Wish I had had the courage to try what you are trying, but since the problem was primarily gigantic viruses, taking it apart would probably have only hastened its demise…poor Toshi, but I must say, He lasted well over 10 years…and until the last, never gave me a moment’s headache! Remarkable!
    (But then he went a cost me a bundle, and still didn’t get fixed…spent way more on him than he was worth… now I have to save up for a long patch in order to get another! I’m really not enjoying my husband’s desk-top…but if I want to write at all, I’ve gotta use it…so I am!

    • Yes I did! It seems everyone can relate to computer issues. Sorry that Toshi didn’t make it in the end.

  7. Amazing little lifelines, our computers. Sometimes I curse mine but I can’t imagine writing one hundred thousand words with a pen and paper.

    • Me neither! The pain of keeping things organized is hard enough digitally, I can’t imagine how I would keep track of a whole book written out long hand.

  8. Oh my god, that’s the kind of thing I would do. Since I was a kid I have had a habit of opening things up to try to fix them 🙂

    • I can’t wait for the new fan to arrive so I can put it back together. I don’t mind using this laptop but I feel much more comfortable on mine.


Categories

