Posted by: Jodi | July 14, 2010

End of an Era

Original Artwork for QuickWrit (by me)

Four years ago I had this great idea to start a Yahoo group designed to help people write their life stories.  “QuickWrit” was born. For a short time I sent out daily prompts guiding members to write something about their life.  At the time I was in Argentina accompanying my hubby on a month-long business trip with our six month old baby.  With the stress of travel and being a new mom I ended up stopping the posts.

It was a fun idea, but in the end I just wasn’t ready for the daily commitment to send out prompts. I felt guilty about not having the drive or energy to complete my own assignments.  I also became frustrated that after what I thought was a lot of effort, I couldn’t manage to attract more members.

Last week I received a spam message that came from the dead but not deleted group of “QuickWrit.”  It was like seeing a ghost, I hadn’t thought about the group in years.  That message was enough to help me decide it was time to close the group.  Yesterday I pulled the plug, the group is now officially dead.  I’ve invited the members to come and check out the material here on the blog.  I would love to somehow make it up to them after deserting them so long ago.

If any of my QuickWrit friends managed to make it here, please let me know in the comments!

Responses

  1. Sometimes things just run their course.

  2. Jodi, the idea is sound, but perhaps better suited to a blog format. You might consider making your QuickWrit entries a scheduled part of your blog. I like the graphic, by the way.

    • It’s a thought worth entertaining. So far I’ve been strongly focused on fiction writing so I’m not sure if it’s the right fit.

  3. It truly was a great idea, and it is something that would have been immensely helpful to me at the time, especially since I was only beginning to entertain the idea of writing at the time…might have been a good “spur” in the rear to start…which I eventually did on my own anyway. Now that I think about it, I wasn’t really ready then (and some may think I’m not ready now! LOL), but I certainly understand why it started and why it had to come to an end. However, I would love to see some of the “prompts” you used at the time! Do you have a list? It might be helpful as I work on a memoir journal for myself!

    I, like Ric, love the graphic! A visual artist you are too, I see! Fantastic…you should include some more of that on your blog! Hope you get some responses from your “class.” Let me know if you have any of the prompts, and I’ll send you my e-mail address so you can send them along. Thanks!

    • It wasn’t until after I hit the delete button on the group that I realized I should have saved the prompts to my machine, oh well. They were all very simplistic like, “Tell about the pets you had growing up,” or “Write a brief bio about one of your siblings.”

      Someday in the future when my time isn’t so tightly rationed it would be fun to start again as a blog.

      I’m glad you like the art – It probably doesn’t qualify as “original” because it’s a mismosh of other images found around the net. I only create pieces when other projects need a little extra zip – but if I ever make anything fun, it will probably end up here.

  4. The idea of writing my own life stories isn’t something that appeals to me, but so many people I know, or even meet for the first time have mentioned wanting to write their own memoirs–I’m sure it is an idea that will never die, even thought the site has. Perhaps there will be a resurrection of sorts…

    • I’m not all that stuck on doing my life story either, per se, but since all the best advice I’ve received on writing includes something along the lines of “write what you know,” I figure it’s a good start! 😀

      • And how true. It’s just that I might be the most boring person I know 🙂 , and even though I say this, I still know that there are certain things about ourselves that each of us need to write about–things others need to hear (read). I guess, what I meant was the thought of a whole book about me, or writing my life story isn’t up my alley, but I sure include myself in so many other ways–like blogging 🙂 .

        **And I hadn’t noticed the artwork until I read a comment later–very talented.

      • Here’s a fun idea for you then – take one of your experiences and turn it into a fictionalized story. Sometimes it seems that our lives are far from interesting but anything can be made interesting if we look for the conflict to be solved.

    • The idea generated around my dad, who is constantly trying to immortalize himself. I wanted to help him collect his thoughts about growing up and having a family in a way that I would have the information. So far he has written 90+ pages on his own and is slowly adding more. I’ve learned tons that I never knew reading through the pages.

      • My dad did the same for us before he died. He did in chronologically, and it revealed a lot, but it left out so much…my Dad’s life as a child and adolescent is still such a mystery to me…some day I’m going to write a story about how I imagine it might have been. There is no one left in the family that knows anything about it anyway, so no one could object! 😀

  5. Love the graphic.

    Also love the idea of prompting writers to reach into the past and pull out a “plum” idea to write about.

    Reading blog posts often does that for me . . . someone says something about his or her past that reminds me about something from my past and I’m compelled to write a bit a short post or comment about the surfaced memory.

    It’s happened on Rik’s blog, Cindy’s blog, Paula’s blog, Nancy’s blog, Cynthia’s blog . . . and your blog. : )

    • It’s amazing what our minds can store that we don’t ever think about. The act of writing about our past helps pull those memories out and dust them off. Often the more we write the more we start remembering. It’s good exercise for the brain!

  6. Interesting that you were prompting people to think back on their lives and write something, and in the course of tellin gus about it, you mentioned having lived in Argentina.

    Don’t you all love those unexpected layers and dimensions that emerge when someone writes?

    • As hard as we try it is impossible not to let bits and pieces of ourselves leak into everything we create. I’m finding this whole process of writing a manuscript terrific therapy as I explore the motivations of my characters.

  7. Now you have a better place here instead of in yahoo group. I made a group there, but it was quite, and dead:-)

    • I love my place here! Blogging is far more fun than a silly yahoo group and more accessible to more people.


Categories

