Quickly Quotable #16 – Whitman

Today’s quotes come from Walt Whitman:

“The art of art, the glory of expression and the sunshine of the light of letters, is simplicity.”

“Oh while I live, to be the ruler of life, not a slave, to meet life as a powerful conqueror, and nothing exterior to me will ever take command of me.”

“Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes.”

    Whitman, Walt (Walter Whitman), 1819–92, American poet, b. West Hills, N.Y. Considered by many to be the greatest of all American poets,Walt Whitman celebrated the freedom and dignity of the individual and sang the praises of democracy and the brotherhood of man. His Leaves of Grass, unconventional in both content and technique, is probably the most influential volume of poems in the history of American literature.

    Quotes courtesy of http://www.brainyquote.com, mini bio from factmonster.com

    About Jodi

    I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
    This entry was posted in Quickly Quotable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    6 Responses to Quickly Quotable #16 – Whitman

    1. nrhatch says:

      I love these quotes:

      1. Simplify your life

      2. Look within for guidance ~ be master of your domain

      3. Don’t worry about internal contradictions and anomalies

      Excellent post!

    2. oldancestor says:

      We should name a bridge after that guy.

    3. Agatha82 says:

      Like the bit of contradicting himself 🙂

    4. Paula says:

      I sing the body electric! The army of those I love engirth me, and I engirth them! They will not let me off go ’til I go with them, respond to them and discorrupt them, and charge them full with the charge of the soul!

      I love Whitman!

    5. Kaston says:

      I’ve read several editions of his Leaves of Grass for study and I must say, he is an inspiration.

    6. Lua says:

      I loved his perspective on contradictions! We all contradict with ourselves because we all contain multitudes…

    Comments are closed.