Writing Exercise – Pick a page

A while back Rik over at Uphill Writing asked a mutual friend, Cindy, of The Only Cin to share a writing exercise on his blog.  The exercise was to grab a book off the shelf and turn to page 91 and take the first complete sentence and write it down.  Then turn to page 40 and write down the first complete sentence found there.  Using the sentence from page 91 to start and the one from 40 to finish, you must string the two together in a story.   To see the Cindy’s writing exercise on Rik’s blog go here.

I thought I would give it a try.   I grabbed “The Power of One”  by Bryce Courtenay and flipped to page 90 and got a tidbit of dialogue.  On page 40 the first sentence was also dialogue and was rather crude so I cheated and went to page 41 instead.   Although the original exercise had no time limit I only gave myself 15 minutes.  This is what turned out, the borrowed sentences are bolded:

“He may look silly, man. But believe me you don’t want to get on his bad side – he’s got a mean streak a mile wide and won’t take nothing from nobody,”  said the pencil thin boy in desk directly to my right.  He was referring to the math teacher, Mr. Judge who had stepped out of the room to ‘talk’ to one of the other students.

It was my fourth day at Mathesen Jr. High.  The rest of the students started three weeks ago.  Pa had to move again for his work, uprooting my family for the fourth time in the past five years.   The first time we had to move it was really tough, leaving all my friends behind, being forced to fit in somewhere new.   Now I only felt numb, I didn’t care if I fit in or not.  Pa promised that this would be the last move.  He promised that the last time and the time before that as well.  No one in our family believed him anymore but we didn’t have the heart to tell  him.

The teacher returned, black bow tie slightly askew on the red plaid shirt.   His arms looked too long for his torso and his teeth too big for his mouth.  He reached for the chalk and started scratching equations onto the board.  The student returned a few minutes later, eyes red and face blotchy.

Mr. Judge cleared his throat and spoke, his voice squeaky, “let’s begin again, starting with these new equations.”  He insisted that the work be done orally, thought that we learned better that way.  To be sure, his two assistants wandered the room listening.  I learned to mumble a number if anyone came close, but mostly I did the Judge’s homework in my head.

Not award-winning material, but enough to get some wheels turning.   I have to admit, Cindy did a much better job at creating a story than I ever could.  If I had limitless time I might be able to turn this into something worth reading!

Any of you care to give it a try?  If you use it as a blog post,  post the link in the comments so everyone can come check it out!

About Jodi L. Milner

Jodi L. Milner is a writer, mandala enthusiast, and educator. Her epic fantasy novel, Stonebearer’s Betrayal, was published in November 2018 and rereleased in Jan 2020. She has been published in several anthologies. When not writing, she can be found folding children and feeding the laundry, occasionally in that order.
This entry was posted in Writing Exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Writing Exercise – Pick a page

  1. cindy says:

    Oh I think it has lovely bones for a good, strong story. I was left wanting more!

  2. Paula says:

    Will do! Sounds like fun! Think I’ll use one of Stieg Larsson’s three books for my two pages…results later! Thanks for the idea… and I think yours is quite good! Don’t you love it when the wheels turn?

  3. Well, not one to be contrary (cough, cough), I think you did quite well!

  4. oldancestor says:

    Great post. Nice job putting that together in 15 minutes by the way. It would take me much longer to reach that level of polish.

    Now all I have to do is figure out how to justify posting a fictional vignette in my blog.

    Hmmm…

  5. Heather says:

    What a great idea. I think I’m going to give it a try. Thanks!

  6. oldancestor says:

    Ok. I’m done. I will admit it took me longer than 15 minutes (more like an hour) and I had to create a new blog page for it.

    The book I chose, for no reason other than it was the first one on the shelf, was Richard Matheson’s novella “I am Legend.” The first line (bolded) is the first on page 90 and the last line (bolded) is the first line on page 40.

    What?

    Or click on my name above and go to the “what?” page, which you’ll find on the upper right of my home page.

    • tsuchigari says:

      Great work! What are the odds that I name my Jr High “Matheson Jr” and you choose a Matheson book? Thanks for giving it a shot – hope you had some fun giving it a try!

      • Anonymous says:

        It was fun, even if I had to put on a pair of headphones to tune out my wife nagging my 8-year-old to do his summer math practice (poor kid).

        That exercise can help inspire a story idea if you’re stuck. You never know what might come out.

  7. nrhatch says:

    Excellent post, Jo.

    And I loved your glimpse into Matheson Jr. High . . .

    Your narrator reminded me of the Harper Lee’s narrator in To Kill A Mockingbird. : )

    • tsuchigari says:

      Would you believe that I still haven’t read “To Kill a Mockingbird” yet? I need to put it on my list. Glad you liked it!

      • nrhatch says:

        To Kill A Mockingbird is a glimpse into standing up for what you believe in, even if it means alienating yourself from those who are pressuring you to conform to “small town” values.

        The narrator is the daughter of the attorney defending an “unpopular” individual in a small town.

        Excellent book.

  8. This would be a fun exercise for students in school.

  9. Akashio says:

    Nice story! It’s an interesting skeleton that begs to be fleshed out :)!

    • tsuchigari says:

      Finding the idea is easy. Finding a way to flesh out the idea and how to end the story is tough. I’ll keep this one around, perhaps one day I’ll turn it into something fun.

  10. Pingback: Happy 4th of July! Some prompts to get you feeling patriotic (or not) | Rutgers-Newark MFA: Blog

  11. Anonymous says:

    Where’s everybody else’s? I want to see what people came up with.

    Snap to it! It’s not like it was a holiday weekend or anything.

Leave a comment