Posted by: Jodi | June 22, 2010

Movie Time! Wall-e and M.O.

It’s Media Motivation Monday, erm, Tuesday.  Growing up there was always the “go-to” movie that we watched over and over.   We had a whole series of them including Annie, Ghostbusters, Mister Boogedy, and Splash.  We would stick one on almost every afternoon.  Now that I think about it, I must have driven my mom nuts watching the same thing day after day.

Now my kids are doing the same thing.  Thank heavens for DVD, easier to manage than those VHS tapes – and they don’t wear down!  Our current “go-to” movies are Wall-E for my 4 yr old son and Ponyo for the 2 yr old daughter.   I’m really glad that we’ve moved past Cars.  That was a daily regular for almost a year.

Today I’d like to share a bit of brilliant animation which most all of you have seen.  This is the moment in Wall-E when Wall-E just arrives on the Axiom and M.O. is cleaning the EVE robots.  Here it is:

What I love about this scene is that Wall-E and M.O. are so human in their actions and reactions.  Even without dialogue we understand know exactly what each is thinking and feeling by the use of body movement.  This is a great lesson on unspoken communication.  M.O. is showing us some delightful frustration at not being able to do his job.  At first, Wall-E is annoyed at this tiny robot and has no problem showing it.  Then, he is curious – he wants to see what will happen if he tries to push this little robots buttons.  I especially love it when Wall-E grinds M.O.’s  face.

When we write do we use moments where characters communicate without speaking?   Take a close look, is there anywhere that the dialogue seems too obvious or unneeded for the scene?  Consider adding some body language – it might be just what you were looking for.

Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. Oh for the days of Wall-e again! If I have to sit through a Twilight movie one more time, I think I’ll just cry.
    That is a lovely movie scene.
    Good post, extensive dialogue actually irks me to read in novels and some read more like a script.

    • I’m counting my blessings that my kiddos still prefer innocent cartoons. The more I watch the more I appreciate the humor and expertise of the writers. Dialogue is such an easy way out, I can’t stand when it’s overused.

  2. To this day I have a similar love of certain movies. And while I do not have time to watch them on a daily basis, I do watch them all pretty regularly. They include: Memento, Primer, Galaxy Quest, Pluto Nash, Independance Day, Zero Effect, Big Fish, Stardust and Princess Bride.

    • I’m proud to say I’ve seen most of those, as for the others this is why we have Netflix. Sorry for the “bad scifi” comment the other day it wasn’t directed at Galaxy Quest. It was more of a quip to break up the uber deep discussion that a certain person was having with herself.

  3. Excellent clip!

    Sometimes it’s fun to push people’s buttons! : )

    • Ah, the joy of messing with someone to get a response! As long as you know when to stop.

  4. Thanks for this. You’ve really left me thinking about ‘showing’ and not ‘telling,’ again. What a great way to convey that. To bring, not just a character to life, but a personality into being; a being to be endeared is an art I would love to be able to master.

    • Thinking about this scene brought about a beautiful moment in my story that might not have existed otherwise. I have two characters that are deeply connected to each other. Having them say “I love you” seems trite and inappropriate. My challenge is to convey the depth of their relationship without making it the focus of the story.

  5. What would be a fun exercise now is to try to ‘write’ that scene; not as written for a movie, but as written into a novel.

    • There are so many brilliant scenes from movies that I would love to try my hand at writing. There is good money for those who are good at it, most blockbusters end up as books.

  6. I love Wall-E
    and there is the scene in the movie that touches my heart:-)

    • The whole story was charming. I love it too!

  7. I love Wall E


Categories

