Posted by: Jodi | June 14, 2010

Did you know?

Technology and writing go hand and hand.  We can see it in the way we acquire new information and how we transfer the ideas from our heads to our readers hands.   Nowadays if we need to know something we google.  If we want to read something we have access to billions of ideas, stories, and news items.   With all the advances in computing and personal electronic devices there are new and exciting ways to communicate our messages to the world.  We live in an era where the only limitations are that of our imagination.

How will you use technology to communicate with the world?

Responses

  1. Amazing!

  2. I go to a site I found on Google that is a rhyming dictionary when writing my odes, but I have yet to use one of the rhymes there…none seem any better than the ones I’ve already used! They also don’t show what I call “internal rhymes,” or rhymes that are a combination of words that fall within a line, or that you can use as the end of one line and the beginning of the next.

    • I go to rhymezone, which has word combinations as well as single words. I’m writing song lyrics though, not poetry, so it might be a bit simplistic for your needs. (I’m not trying to be the next Bob Dylan. I just need some drivel that sounds good with the chords 😉 )

      For fiction, I often use google maps to make sure my characters aren’t turning a corner in Harlem and ending up on a sidewalk in SoHo or driving the wrong way down a one-way street (though that might liven up the scene, now that I think about it.)

      • Sound like great tools – I love Google maps.

  3. Great video, and to think, it is already two years old!

  4. I wonder what the figures would be now, since it’s been 2 years since that video was released. My father and I were discussing the advance of technology recently, we remember the clunky graphics of video games from the 80s…we’ve come so far, but the idea of Super Computers frightens me…it sounds too much like those horror science fiction stories where one takes over the world…eek…

    • I was hoping to find a video that was more current, but this was the best. I can only imagine what the numbers are now.

      • I’d be interested in how Facebook has taken over Myspace now…(I am facebook virgin, have never used it and I don’t want to…maybe one day)

  5. We’ve come a long way, baby!

    I remember struggling to find answers to questions as a child ~ if they weren’t in the dictionary or encyclopedia, I had to do actual research! : )

    Using a card catalog! : )

    At the library!

  6. I heard somewhere that it is not about the volume of information, but how we process the information into knowledge. Always work for writers if you ask me 😉

    Thanks for the video!

  7. […] Did you know? – A video about the rise of information and technology. […]


Categories

