Everyone’s free (to wear sunscreen)

Happy Memorial Day everyone!

I hope that this message finds you all enjoying the holiday and taking time to remember and honor those who have passed on before.  In honor of the day, I chose to share the song “Everybody’s Free (to wear sunscreen), which is full of great advice that would make my Grandma smile.  The music, by Baz Luhrmann, was released as a successful single in 1998.  The lyrics are from an essay written by Mary Schmich entitled “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on the young” and was published in the Chicago Tribune in 1997.

Enjoy!

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Music and Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Everyone’s free (to wear sunscreen)

  1. I’m a bit confused as to who wrote that. For some reason I keep thinking Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
    Not that it matters. The advice, the wisdom, is strong and good.

    • tsuchigari says:

      The Wiki article talks about the Vonnegut urban myth – I thought he did also. I was going to include a link but time got away from me.

  2. Paula says:

    Absolutely Fabulous!! Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’ve appropriated it now for my own use, and I’m going to be spreading it around!

  3. Pingback: The Memorial Day Parade « Spirit Lights The Way

  4. nrhatch says:

    Love it! Perfect for new grads!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Review #17 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.