Quickly Quotable #10

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer: that you are here; that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?”

Character John Keating from the movie Dead Poets Society, acted by Robin Williams

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Quickly Quotable and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quickly Quotable #10

  1. nrhatch says:

    Perfect quote for me today ~ ties in beautifully with my last post:

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/existential-angst/

    “What will your verse be?”

  2. Pingback: Existential Angst « Spirit Lights The Way

  3. Lua says:

    I love this quote… “medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.” It explains perfectly why I quit law and decided to become a writer 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Review #17 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.