Posted by: Jodi | May 22, 2010

Weekly Review #15

Week #15 came and went here in writing land.  Progress on the manuscript is still slow but I’ve come to accept that this the kind of project that refuses to be rushed.  I’ve been reading Stephen King’s “On Writing, A Memoir of the Craft” and have found it enlightening and helpful.  The best advice I will put to use immediately is to approach a draft in a linear way, from beginning to end.  No backtracking!

Here on the blog we saw another great week, here is the list of this weeks posts:

Quickly Quotable #8:  A few great quotes about writing

Eric Whitaker: Virtual Choir – A powerful video about what can happen when people join their talents together

The Power of Assumption: As writers we need to make correct assumptions, or else!

100th Post! – Yay, it’s official.  Get to know more about me

My monkey has his hands up – Musing about the process of learning a new skill

Friday Fun: Spoonerisms Revisited – Fordplay for a Wriday

Other news, there are some great posts over at Eclectic Engine.  It’s a great new blog about just about everything.  See if you can spot which articles are mine and tell me what you think!

Have a great weekend everyone – Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. 15 weeks? Surely this blog is older than that!

    • Yes, it is about 6 weeks older than that. I didn’t start doing weekly reviews until the end of Feb when I started posting daily.

  2. I read the King book back some time ago, and thought it was excellent! But my favorite book on writing is Anne LaMott’s “Bird by Bird.” You must have read it, and if not, I strongly encourage you to do so! One of the greatest for any sort of writer or artist. Just atke your book bird by bird, and it WILL happen!

    • Excellent suggestion – I will put it on my must read list.

  3. An excellent quote by Stephen King in On Writing (p. 219) . . . brought to my attention to Mandy (Tiger Princess):

    “Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid or making friends. In the end it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting Happy, okay? Getting happy.

    Some of this book – perhaps too much – has been about how I learned to do it. Much of it has been about how you can do it better. The rest of it – and perhaps the best of it – is a permission slip: you can, you should and if you are brave enough to start, you will. Writing is magic, as much the water of life as any other creative art.

    The Water is free. So drink.

    Drink and be filled up.”

    If you’re permitted inside (by the bouncers at the cyber door), here’s a link to Mandy’s FB note:

    http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=396787189797

    • Funny – I read that part right after reading this. Good empowering advice.


Categories

