Movie Review: Children of Heaven

After watching “Osama” and “The Kite Runner” I worried that “Children of Heaven” would be yet another foreign film that left me angry at the world.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.    This little gem of a movie, nominated for the 1998 Academy Award for Best Foreign Language, was both charming and uplifting.

The story is very simple, a boy loses his sister’s shoes and he knows that his family can’t afford to buy her new ones.  Fearing that telling their parents might get them in trouble, the two come up with a way they can both use his pair of sneakers and go to school.

They need to make a spoken English version so I could show it to my young kids.  The current disk only has French and Farsi as the spoken languages with subtitles.   I would love my kids to see how the brother and sister sacrificed the little they had for each other.   It is also an eye-opening lesson to how much we take for granted, a true lesson in gratitude.

I give the movie two enthusiastic thumbs up!

Links:

Wikipedia:  Children of Heaven

Roger Ebert Review

IMDB – Children of Heaven

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movie Review: Children of Heaven

  1. Paula says:

    Looking forward to it…It is on Netflix, I assume.(?)

  2. nrhatch says:

    Excellent film ~ and definitely worth sharing with your kids.

    Great reminder to us of all that we have to be grateful for . . . like bedrooms and bathrooms and laundry facilities and sneakers. : )

  3. Pingback: Weekly Review #13 « My Literary Quest

  4. Pingback: Movie Review: Children of Heaven | The Eclectic Engine

Comments are closed.