Quickly Quotable #6

A scrupulous writer, in every sentence that he writes, will ask himself at least four questions, thus: 1. What am I trying to say? 2. What words will express it? 3. What image or idiom will make it clearer? 4. Is this image fresh enough to have an effect?

George Orwell (1903 – 1950) “Politics and the English Language,” 1946

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Editing and Revision, Quickly Quotable, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quickly Quotable #6

  1. Sigh. Looks like I’m *NOT* a scrupulous writer.

  2. nrhatch says:

    Excellent quote ~ and I disagree with Rik’s comment about his own writing.

    I find him both scrupulous and scruple-less as a writer! : )

  3. Lua says:

    Amazing quote… I should tell this one to people who thinks we simply “sit down and write when inspiration strikes.” 🙂

    • tsuchigari says:

      Oh I wish it were that easy. I do hear that with years of experience and practice that writing well gets a bit easier. Until then…

  4. Pingback: Weekly Review #13 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.