Weekly Review #10

There wasn’t much to review this week.  The manuscript is making slow and steady progress and thanks to some fantastic critique (Rik and Nancy, you guys are great!) I’m getting a good feel on what I can do to take my writing to the next level.

For those of you who keep track of these things, yes the post is late today.  I have a fantastic reason.

While driving to a birthday dinner for my sister in law last night, we had a bit of an accident.  Traffic was heavy and there was a long three lane column waiting for the light.  We were driving in the turn lane preparing to turn left when this red car jumped out  in front of us.  The cars waiting at the light had let her through and she neglected to look for our oncoming car.  The only thing I remember is seeing the red car, thinking “oh &^#@”, hearing the squeal of the brakes, and then a horrendous bang.  In the millisecond before impact I crossed my arms in front of my face and braced for the hit, an instinctive reflex back from my karate days.   The car was filled with smoke and the kids were screaming.  No one was hurt more than bruises, the muscles in my neck and shoulder got the brunt of it from the seatbelt.

I think it ironic that this was the week I posted a seatbelt commercial to demonstrate the importance of using emotion in writing.  If you missed it the post is entitled “Emotional Impact” and there is a link below.   We religiously wear seatbelts, and yesterday it paid off.

Blogs from this week:

Quickly Quotable #3: C.S. Lewis on originality

Site Renovation: Did some remodeling around the site with a new theme

Emotional Impact: An exploration on how to use emotion in writing

Get Your Dangling Participle Out of my Face! The weekly language usage lesson

Asking the “Write” Questions: How to use questions to add depth to your writing

Friday Fun: Lost in Translation – Some real English signs found in Western Europe.

I added a site to the resources section of the blogroll.  for anyone who is curious about how to create a query letter you must visit The Public Query Slushpile.  This marvelous free site will post your query letter and then anyone can come and give feedback and critique.

Also, for those looking for fiction markets to submit their work, go check out Duotrope’s Digest.  They are also completely free (but accept donations) and keep tabs on hundreds of different markets both paid and free.  As a registered user they will keep track of all your submissions.

Until Monday, happy writing!

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Featured Resource, Opportunity Knocks, Personally Speaking, Technology, Weekly Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Review #10

  1. So glad you and the family are all OK. I trust the scofflaw will be pinned down by the local constabulary.

  2. Wonderful…we also religiously wear seatbelts, and I remember one time when it paid off for us too. We were turning out of a parking lot into a long line of traffic, and had just gotten into our lane. There was a little bit of space between us and the next car – enough for a car to pass through. A young girl was turning left into the parking lot we had come out of, and in spite of the warnings from other drivers who saw what she was doing, she decided to turn left anyway, and slammed right into our car. At the time I was having a great deal of problems with my arms and shoulders, and just as we got to the turn realized that I did not have my seatbelt on because it hurt to shift in my seat in order to grab the belt. I had just clicked it in, and we were hit. She hit hard enough that I definitely would have been injured, because I too got the bruises on my chest and shoulder (I really needed that)! The girl was 16 and had just gotten her license. When we all got to a safe place to park, she was the hysterical one…”My father will KILL me! What am I going to do?” etc., etc. We ended up comforting her, and when her Dad arrived, he took her in his arms and told her “It’s OK, It’s OK. You’re alive, baby!” She just collapsed and wept. We teared up a bit too! The kicker is that although a used car, it was brand new to us, having only had it for two days…it ended up being in the repair shop for two weeks…had to have a new left front door, and fenders and hood replaced, as well as wheel work, and other stuff. Oh well…we are alive, the cops were near, and everybody was very well behaved, so God saw us through that too, as God always has. The best of it is that a brand new car was rented for us, which was a fantastic one…we almost hated to give it up!

    Your story is a great one! Thanks!
    Paula Tohline Calhoun

    • tsuchigari says:

      And to think that there are those out there that think wearing a belt is far more dangerous. Yes, the belt is was wrenched my neck and shoulder a bit but hitting the dash with my face would have really put a dent in my day. Glad that the dad had the right reaction in your story. We are trying to figure out a car now. Joy.

  3. nrhatch says:

    Glad that you survived the accident ~ not a fun way to spend a Friday evening.

    • tsuchigari says:

      Thanks – we are so glad that it ended up as minor as it was. Still, my shoulder still aches a bit and my baby bit her tongue really good, which has made her seriously cranky today. I’ve never seen a bruise on a tongue before.

Comments are closed.