Posted by: Jodi | April 10, 2010

Weekly Review #9

The manuscript is slowly improving.  As expected the revising, editing, and rewriting process is taking huge amounts of effort.  Experienced writers may snigger now at my chirpy optimism at the beginning of the editing process.   It is not until you are in the revision trenches that you learn that the process is much like opening a vein, leaving you drained, weakened.  Revisions for short stories are relatively painless compared to this.

Naturally, I’m behind in my self-imposed schedule, which has now been thrown out the window.  It doesn’t help that I have once again altered the opening scenes enough to require a complete rewrite of two entire chapters.  The change is once again for the better; I just wish I would have had these brilliant ideas before I started writing.

Moving on to the blogosphere, where I have spent the better part of my free time crafting the daily posts instead of working on the manuscript and other projects.    It’s become an addiction, I crave days with high of page views.

Blogs of this week:

Quickly Quotable #2: A great quote by Carl Jung

Contest: NPR Three Minute Fiction – This month’s story prompt, due tomorrow!

Text 2.0, a Brave New World of Reading: Introducing a new technology that might change the way we read

e.g. vs. i.e. – This weeks language usage lesson, two acronyms I always get confused.

Fake it till you make it: An exploration on the art of confidence

Friday Fun: Paraprosdokian Phrases – Some humorous quotes

Starting next week I’m returning to my morning writing routine (instead of sleeping) and hoping that more uninterrupted time equals clearer, better thinking.

Until then,

Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. And people think writing is easy. Hah!

  2. Writing is easy ~ it’s the revising, editing and re-writing that drives writers to drink. ; )


Categories

