Fake it till you make it

Confidence.  Are some people born with it or is it a skill that must be learned?  I would like to believe that it is a skill and that with patience and courage it can be learned.  If this is true, even I can be a confident and even daring person.  It’s easy to pretend confidence and authority through the written word.  A blog, like this one, can be edited and revised until the writer sounds like they know what they are talking about.

The oft used phrase “fake it till you make it” means just that – pretending that you know what you are doing.  With time and effort you will acquire the skills and knowledge until one day you’ll realize that you really do know what you are doing, you might even be good at it.  Is it easy? No, building a knowledge base and having confidence in that knowledge takes time and effort.  Is it worth it? Yes! Nothing is more satisfying than mastering new skills.

At this very moment I am faking that I know how to write a novel (and a blog).  I haven’t received any special certification or taken secret classes to teach me how to write.  Yet, I have created a manuscript that, although far from perfect, can be called a book.  If I keep at it, learning and growing through the process, it might even be a good one.

So I challenge you, dear reader, to find something that you have secretly wished to do and take the first steps.  Sure, there is a chance that it might be a spectacular failure.  But, not trying at all is a guaranteed failure.  You’ll never know until you try.

In the words of Nike Shoes  “Just do it”.

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Personally Speaking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fake it till you make it

  1. captaindomon says:

    Best post so far.

  2. Lua says:

    Great post Tsuchigari, so inspiring 🙂 this is one of my (many) mottos: Fake it till you make it! I think writing your very first novel is like taking a swing in dark, none of us truly know what we’re doing but we’re faking it all right 🙂 Writing has a lot to do with intuition so I believe that if we act with our instincts, without even realizing, we’ll see that we’re actually ‘making it’.

  3. nrhatch says:

    The chance of stubbing your toes increases the more you walk . . . but it’s better than going nowhere by standing still.

    Excellent post!

  4. nrhatch says:

    The full quote: As noted by Robin Sharma, in The Top 200 Secrets of Success and the Pillars of Self-Mastery: “Although the chance of stubbing your toe increases the more you walk, it is always better than going nowhere by standing still.”

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/attack-of-the-killer-ants/

  5. Pingback: Weekly Review #9 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.