Posted by: Jodi | April 2, 2010

Friday Fun: “The Islander” by Nightwish

For those of you who have been following the blog for a while, you know I have a weakness for the Finnish rock band “Nightwish”.  I’m not usually a hard rock/heavy metal type girl, lots of their music is a little too hard for me; but the ones I like are some of my all time favorites.

A bit of background on the band, they were formed in 1996 by Tuomas Holopainen (the dark eyed goth looking fellow) and are Finland’s most successful band with more than 7 million albums and singles worldwide.   This particular video “The Islander” features Tarja’s replacement, vocalist Anette Olzon.  Marco Hietala (the guy with the twin beard) performs the lead vocals.

The imagery used in this video is particularly striking, the old captain, falling petals, floating ships, and the circle of fire; all build a desire to know the story behind the song. Enjoy.

Visit my previous posts featuring Nightwish music videos:

Fun Friday:  Tarja Turunen “I Walk Alone”

Writing Journal Jan 25

Learn more about the band:

Wikipedia: Nightwish

Responses

  1. […] Friday Fun – “The Islander” by Nightwish […]

  2. What an act these guys were. Not only did they have excellent music, but their videos were amazing!


Categories

