Lost in a Dream

As I was doing some work on the manuscript the other night I found myself stuck reading it.  Not seeking  places to improve, beef up, remove, rearrange, clarify; but actually reading it.   I had only planned on checking one specific ending chapter to see if the concepts still worked with the changes I had made in an earlier chapter.  Instead, I got lost in my writing.  I read that chapter and the next, and the next until the end.

In my head, everything in these chapters works.  The visuals are in place and stunning, the characters very real, the emotional impact is fantastic.  That’s the problem, it’s all in my head.  My little private movie theater shows me exactly what I want to see, but not what is necessarily on the paper.

With time and effort I know I can get what’s on the paper to match what’s in my head.  That is, time and effort and my happy posse of readers who better tell me what I’m doing wrong.   I want the process to go faster; I’m impatient with the ever-growing list of what needs to be done.

Anything worth doing is worth taking the time to do it right.

It doesn’t help that I’m counting calories (again). Don’t use the “d” word with me, I don’t diet. Not being able to graze throughout the day makes me antsy and irritable, which takes its toll on my patience level.

I hope all you writers reading today are in love with the story in your head and are willing to do what it takes to spill it out on paper.  I’ll be sure to read it when you do!

Happy Writing and Happy April Fool’s Day

[now, where is that chocolate?…]

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Personally Speaking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lost in a Dream

  1. nrhatch says:

    Since we can’t please everyone . . . we’ve got to at least try to suit ourselves! : )

  2. Lua says:

    I just wrote about this issue on my blog this morning! About how I fear that the story just won’t sound good on paper as it does in my head! I guess we all share the same fears and doubts when it comes to the creative process…
    I don’t use the “d” word either, I would say “I’m eating healthy” haha
    “Anything worth doing is worth taking the time to do it right.” I love this perspective by the way 🙂
    Happy writing & editing.

    • tsuchigari says:

      The cosmic forces in the universe have made us do a similar blog, wow! I’ve been using the scheduler and wrote this up yesterday, then I read your post in my email first thing this morning. It’s amazing you and I living a world away from each other still experience the same writing dilemmas. Keep at it, just being aware that the things in your head might not be what’s happening on the page means that you are heading in the right direction. If you need a reader, let me know!

  3. tikiman1962 says:

    I wonder: what prevents the voice in the head from becoming the voice on paper?

    • tsuchigari says:

      For me it’s a visualization issue. I can “see” clearly what the scene looks like, how the characters react. The problem is that because I see it, I unconsciously assume that the readers do also and end up avoiding writing descriptions because it seems too obvious.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Review #8 « My Literary Quest

  5. Finding out that you are an author… by reading your own work, is an amazing thing. Thanks for posting this.

Comments are closed.