Posted by: Jodi | March 25, 2010

Movie Review: The Princess and the Frog

My hubby and I took the kiddos to see Disney’s latest, “The Princess and the Frog”.   My nearly two-year old sat happily in her booster until the previews started and then she insisted on running up and down the aisles for the rest of the movie.  My four-year old did much better.   He lasted about a forty-five minutes into the movie before joining her, a new personal record.  Although credit goes to the jumbo tub of popcorn for keeping him in his seat an extra twenty minutes.  This, my friends, is why we go to the dollar movies.

We were in good company, by the end of the movie there was a pack of six or seven kids roaming the theater while their parents watched the movie.

The movie itself?  What I did get to see looked cute.  It was loaded down with the expected boatload of feel good messages like – work hard to reach your dreams, dig deep to find what you really want, be true to yourself, and if all else fails wish on a star.

Disney managed to create a new princess to join the proud ranks of their merchandising industry.  Princess Tiana, the first black Disney princess, can now stand proudly next to Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Belle, and all the other princess dolls on the rack.

For a movie, it’s no award winner.  It’s cute, funny, and packed with the charm of New Orléans culture.  The characters were well-built and well-rounded albeit completely transparent, not unusual for a kids movie.  The story was fresh and well written as far as I could tell, for some reason I had a hard time focusing.

All in all, it wasn’t enough to keep my kids interested so no ringing endorsement from me.

Responses

  1. I wanted to see this one, but my almost 4 year old has decided she’s petrified of movie theaters. They’re too loud and the tv is too big she says, and my son was never much of a movie guy. He’ll go, but he doesn’t ask to go. I made the mistake of bringing them to see A Christmas Carol. We had to leave the theater then. Oh well, it’ll come back.

  2. I went to see Disney’s OTHER latest yesterday. Alice in Wonderland, IMAX, 3D. Better than I expected, but certainly not a child’s movie.

    • It’s on my list for when I can get a night out without the kids, it looked a little too creepy for them. Can’t wait!

  3. Thanks for the heads up. I’ll probably pass on this one . . . or wait for it to come out on DVD.

    Love Disney feels ~ nothing like feeling better when you leave a movie than when you arrived.

    One your kids might enjoy ~ The Ugly Dachshund. Available from Netflix. It’s about dogs . . . making a mess. : )

    • You got me laughing! Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll put it on my list.

  4. Hmm, I was thinking about bringing my baby sister to this one but maybe we’ll wait for the DVD to come out. If it’s not interesting enough to her, she want to leave immediately after her popcorn is finished 🙂 Thanks for the review.

  5. […] Movie Review: The Princess and the Frog […]


Categories

